You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you want to fly an X-Wing?

in #gaming7 years ago

I introduced my friends to this game when the Core Set came out a few years ago. We quickly realized how much fun this game is, but also that it costs an arm and a leg. I'm pretty sure I stopped around $250, but a couple of my friends continued on, and now one of them even plays in the competitive tournaments. (He was at one in Syracuse a few months ago.) I'll still play every once in awhile for fun, but the meta of this game has changed so much, I easily get killed. While fun, I hope you have the time and money to commit. I sure didn't.

Sort:  

I agree it isn't a cheap game, but as someone who has spent thousands of dollars over my lifetime on magic cards, and picked up plenty of $40-60 board games and video games that I barely played, $200 isn't much for a game I really love. But I also used a big amazon gift card I'd gotten to start off my collection, so that made it a lot easier. If you know what you want to fly and what is good you can easily put together a few great lists for less though. I also have friends with more ships than me, so it's easy to borrow things that I need to fill out a list. The scene in Austin is also such that you can go the the more casual meetups and just have fun flying whatever against other people doing the same thing and not worry about the competitive meta.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53