Weekly Discussion Post! If you could make a living in Gaming, what would you be doing?

in #gaming6 years ago

Hey there, it's @volderhein here (It's been a long time, I know.) We're back again, with another WEEKLY DISCUSSION POST where one of your really cool admins here at OPgaming will choose a topic to rant about so you can rant with us too! Isn't this AMAZING?

This week's theme is:

If you could make a living in Gaming, what would you be doing?

image.jpg

Source


As always, one of the OPG staff gets to respond, right here, right now! This week's lucky contestant is of course, the all mighty, the great, @volderhein ! And here's my opinion on this topic!

Hmm... Making a living out of Gaming... If I had to say the first thing that pops up in my mind it would either be working as a Youtuber or Streamer on Twitch. Basically all you need is charisma and some humble beginnings (?) And it has always been one of my dream jobs if i'm being honest. Gaining money out of playing Videogames? Where do I sign up? It's as easy as that... or that's what you would think. Nobody really aknowledges how complicated it is to be an actual entertainer because it's not just playing games, you gotta have charisma and actually be entertaining. You gotta put up a show for your audience everytime they're going to see you and it's not as easy or as simple as it looks, there's actually a lot of work behind the curtains us as an audience don't actually notice. If you got all of those skills your audience needs, you're set up for a great time with a great income and a great interaction and community building. I would personally try this out when I have the chance and the equipment to do so!

The second option that comes into my mind is working directly in the game industry, either as a Game Developer or any other occupation related to that. And in my opinion here's where you take a more active role in changing and participating in the whole gaming medium which is really really cool but it'd say it's 5 times harder than being an entertainer because you actually have to create a product from scratch and then trying to sell it but that's up to the marketing department, that's not a developer issue (?)

image.png
Source

But what would YA BOI @volderhein be doing as a living is what you've all been waiting for... right? Well... I'd personally try the "being an entertainer" thing first since I consider is the easiest one of the options but at the same time if I ever decide to learn programming and trying out videogame designing, I would probably balance myself between streaming and making games since both look like fun choices.

At this point I think i'm trying to entertain you guys in this shape in here on Steemit. I also think i'm doing a rather good job at this but at the end of the day you're the ones who decide what's good and what's bad so that's why it's always important to let your thoughts be heard down the comments.

As an admin of yours truly @opgaming , i'd like to know what you guys think about this and what's your view on this topic? Have you considered the same things as I did? Are you already an entertainer or a game developer? (Say hi to @thecastle which is trying both and is doing a great game!) Are you already making a living out of Gaming? Let us know in the comments!!!

I'll see you on the next one <3


OP Gaming is an awesome group of awesome people, too OP to be put down! If you like talking about gaming, writing gaming posts, or if you want to hang out with some awesome gamers, OP Gaming is the place to be! Click the image below to join our discord!

OPG_2.png

Already a member, or simply want to help us grow so we can reward our members even more?
Please consider delegating SP to our cause:
25SP,50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP
Contact any of the admins in the discord if you need help!

Sort:  

As a streamer and someone with a diploma in software development, I would say streaming as I love to play my games and bring the entertainment. But if I had much more experience in game development and from the little bits I have done, that would be so much fun to do and see the progress of it coming to life.

It would be cool to actually have both things to work on! I hope I can someday do that!

I would like to be the equivalent of a wine taster... Game testing might initially be the first thought that drops into most heads but that isn't as exciting as it first seems, mostly involving finding bugs and stuff rather than enjoying the game.

Or I would like to be the money man. The guy that decides which games get the green light... No pubg, no brainless fps... Only strategy and in depth survival. Or grand simulation or deep Rpgs....

I hope that our platform Steemgg takes off and we could really make a living out of it!

But otherwise, I reckon a game tester, testing the newest games would be a top choice for me!

BEING A GAME TESTER SOUNDS COOL TOO! I've never ever heard about any jobs opening on there, though! I'd really have to look for it!

Good luck to you and your platform! It is really promising and Steemgg supporting Game Jam initiatives is a step in the right direction. That would be awesome if you made a living out of it ! There are a few things I don't like with your app's design though and I thought I would share them with you. The first one is the use of the Kaushan Script font which doesn't really look modern, I would have picked a more neutral sans-serif font. The second one is the time it takes to transition the masks on game-grid-containers. I try to never go above 300ms as it starts to feel very slow over this time limit. Granted those design choices are not breaking the user experience but they are still a bit annoying. Anyway, I love seeing that a game platform finally exists on the Steem blockchain, thanks for making it ! Hopefully more will come in the future !

Thank you for your comment, we will surely take note! At the moment our team is quite small, so it will take a while to implement changes. We also hope to bring in people that are more experienced in UI design, which hopefully would make our site better and easier to use.

Please feel free to let me know if you have other suggestions. You can even submit issues and suggestions on our Github page! Thanks for your support!

Back in college, I made a complete custom magic the gathering set. It was a lot of work, but a ton of fun to make. Game systems design seems like something that would be right along my set of interests, something that I would be able to excel in. Unfortunately, you have to be capable of far more than that to even get your foot in the door...

A similar thing I did, was that I with my brother and cousins drew custom (and small) versions of Yu-Gi-Oh cards...

We started doing that because the real cards were either too expensive or unavailable in our area. By the time we could get the real ones, we enjoyed our own custom cards so much we didn't bother buying them.

We spent more than three summers doing that (because we mostly meet in summer.) I believe I alone drew more than a thousand of them, of course... what do you expect from 13 yrs old drawing?

I think I was the only one focused on making our original cards balanced, brother and cousins always created the-best-card-ever-made each time, which resulted on funny over powered plays each time we meet.

Ah, memories...

What are you talking about? YGO is full of best-card-ever-made cards. That's why the ban list is so ridiculously huge! :P

In all seriousness, that's pretty awesome.

That's the only problem I have with YGO.

What are you talking about? YGO is full of best-card-ever-made cards. That's why the ban list is so ridiculously huge! :P

Each year it becomes less and less newbie friendly because of this. A card game needs to have some sort of balance that never changes with the years. Now, try to play the strongest 2010 cards against a normal 2018 deck. The defeat won't be pretty.


Yeah, only now I see how awesome our games were!

In all seriousness, that's pretty awesome.

Balance in multiplayer games is incredibly difficult, and we tend to have a hard time recognizing good balance in game design. But we have a really easy time noticing unbalanced games. In a sense, I guess that's the true determining factor of a game. If people aren't vocally complaining about the game balance, it's probably pretty balanced and nobody noticed.

I kind of agree with this... I also saw a video about adding more content to the game even if it was unbalanced (though mostly for single player only games) because useless items still add to the world.

That's a very good point. Any growth, even if it's shit growth, can still be considered growth. Obviously, you can't rely on shit growth. You have to deal with the elephant in the room eventually.

We won't get anywhere if we don't really try!

For me, it's to become a game developer. But! To be more specific, if possible, I want to be in a position where I won't have to be involved too much in the development process. If there is such position in gamedev studio (except for the one who makes coffee for the studio. I don't want that).

Because I watched this YouTuber called Outstar, who worked in CD PROJEKT RED as an artist, and also the one who's done Triss' mocap. She quit a while ago on her own decision, and her reason is because when you're the one who's making the game, no matter how great the game might be, in the end you won't feel its greatness and the excitement to the fullest the way gamers do. Because you already know the whole thing of the game you created. So I just thought I'm afraid I won't be as excited for my own game. If I'll ever be a gamedev, that is.

But if there's no such position, then it's fine by me.

I guess my top choice would be to be a journalist and in a way that's what I'm doing with my podcast.

Not to write reviews or news stories (been there done that).

But to do deep stories where you visit game studios and talk to the devs and other people involved about what they're working on and how they're doing it.

There is plenty of things you can do to earn cash around gaming world :D You can be pro and plays in e-sport leagues, you can be journalist, tv presenter in gaming channel ect.

By me the best will be by being streamer and video creator I stll have hope that this gonna happen someday :D

You forgot one group.
Esports.
They are not entertaining, nor into development.
They are just playing their game. That can be fun to watch for some people, and thus interesting for the advertisement business. But their entertainment is different from the streamers.
Or do I see this wrong?

Hey that's true!!!! I forgot to mention Esports. But as I said, these were just the things that came to my mind at the moment of writing.

There are so many options I could see myself doing honestly but, since I'm learning programming, I'd say the most logical choice would be to make a living out of creating video games. It used to be number one on my list but not anymore. Number one is the same as a lot of people my age: making videos. I would love to create content in the same vein as Fitz, SovietWomble and Teo's videos. I know a lot of people don't like editing videos but I actually enjoy it. I have made a few videos in the past, learning new editing tricks was a big part of the fun. Also, thinking of the best way to show a funny moment is awesome because it lets me get creative. If I ever become a popular youtuber, I will probably have to start streaming. It would be the best way for me to interact with viewers and to have their instant feedback on the funny moments. I would never only do streaming though, I don't see myself having that as a full time job. Reviewing games is something I could also see myself doing full time, I've recently started reviewing games and so far I enjoy it. Putting negative reviews out is something I don't enjoy as much though but it would have to be part of the job. Being the creator of a popular gaming-related website would be really cool too, I've got a few ideas that I'm working on on my spare time but I can't tell much because they feel more like dreams than reality at this point in time.

Ah I forgot reviewing! That's someting i'm doing alongside posting here on steemit! Aside from covering gaming news and such. But hey the gaming industry is rather extense so there's a lot of things to do in here if we're willing to do the effort!

How could you forgot reviewing?! That's what I was going to choose... Though I'll go with story designing (yup, same as game designing but with focus on story not gameplay) if I could.

There's a lot of possibilities!!! We can all fit however we want if we really try our bests.

i played a long time ARMA Life.. and was a bad bad guy :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38