You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a Gaming PC Part 2 - The components for the PC

in #gaming7 years ago

Ben has been pestering for a new gaming machine. You start to look at the numbers and I feel like for the money we are at the supercomputer for NASA level! OMG it sucks being poor lol.

Sort:  

Actually, I have been quite fascinated with this journey, in fact it will continue to be documented in many more posts then I originally intended. As game developers continue to up the quality of their games with what is now nearly movie quality in game graphics - obviously the capability of the equipment to display the graphics at such high quality has to increase or the whole experience gets lost. I did go a bit overboard upping specs on this build because I didn't want it to fail to achieve what I wanted - plus spending a little more in some cases would ensure in future I wouldn't have to replace components to keep up with newer and even more power hungry titles - but where do you stop? Plus consoles will play the big titles with less hardware outlay - but are limited to just games - so is it better to buy a console which is a one trick pony - or build a pc which will do games, but also let you create content and do far more then a console offsetting the extra cost. Without giving away too much of a spoiler, I will say so far I am very impressed at how well this runs with Windows 10 - as a very long term Mac advocate previously frustrated with Microsofts OS - aside from a few minor driver and (Edge) issues the whole install and set up of the os went ridiculously smoothly on this build.

Yes this really has been the age old question really. Consoles play the games cheaper. True. My friends always tried to sell me on consoles, but I never bought it to it and still don't. I don't want to simply play games only. The PC is so much more multi dimensional. I am much more into being able to create and manipulate content. The PC while never perfect has servered my needs rather well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46