You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A trip back to 2000 in gaming history (Part 2)

in #gaming6 years ago

Final Fantasy IX was a big deal at the time, because it was advertised as a return to the classic feel of the series, after VII and VIII being so inundated with high-res graphics, sci-fi settings, and complicated skill systems. I played the game, but never finished it. Watching a Let's Play of it much later, I do think the mechanics of it were well-designed in a lot of ways. I'm just not terribly fond of the art style.

Chrono Cross was also highly anticipated, being a sequel to one of the greatest games of all time. I'm really not fond of it, though. The number of playable characters you have to keep track of is pretty overwhelming, and trying to manage the colored equippable abilities that the combat system was built around just didn't feel all that enjoyable. I think it was pretty well-done artistically, though, and the writing and the soundtrack were both amazing.

Sort:  

Interesting thoughts on "Chrono Cross" actually, being someone who never played "Chrono Trigger" (I will surely do, after you named it as "one of the greatest games of all time" :) ) I just got blew away by it, however i would have to admit that it took me as a kid a good few tries to actually get into learning how the game works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45