What the heck is the Soulja Boy Retro!!??

in #gaming5 years ago

I'm currently on a quest to find the perfect retro gaming hand held. So you can understand that when I heard Soulja was pushing these consoles packed full of games I got pretty excited!


Too good?

At first glance this looks like a great deal! Right? I mean $99.99 for the handheld with 508 games! That's hell of a deal.

Unless...

It's basically a cheap knockoff like the ones we've been seeing on eBay for the last few years...

Should I get one?

However I have to give props to Soulja, just with the hype around this thing he probably sold a whole bunch. My guess is that he's pushing this brand for commision, or this is just some basic drop shipping scheme that makes him close to 150% profit per piece.

Anyways the reason I'm writing this today is just to let you know, don't buy this!
Go on ebay and search for "retro hand held"! These things have been around for years and here you have a defunct hip hop artist telling you it's new and cool.
I mean yeah it's cool, but it's worth $30 at most and at the end of the day it is not clear wether the distribution of original Nintendo games is even legal. My guess is it's not and mr. Soulja will get a slap on the wrist from Nintendo at some point.

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/32-BIT-RETRO-Classic-Mini-Portable-Video-HANDHELD-Game-Console-168-Built-in-Game/142984113192?hash=item214a846c28:m:mZWq27o2XqvIjtGwa_qHEVg:rk:4:pf:0

Just an example of one of these off brand hand held emulators, $30 new in box.

So tired of seeing celebrities sell inferior products at a higher price to their fans. Do a service to yourself, if you see an artist/public personality pushing a product. See if you can find out where they're getting that product from, you might be surprised by the actual value of what they're selling...


If you got something out of this article, please take the time to leave a comment below! I'd love to hear your opinion!

Sort:  

It's clearly not legal. I know we shouldn't judge a book by its cover but when 4 consoles are released in a month, you know something wrong is going on. JonTron made a fun video that explains the situation pretty well, you should check it out if you haven't already !

Thanks for the recommendation, I will check it out for sure!

I believe Nintendo already issued a warning. It will be interesting to watch this progress, if it does.

Interesting article. What he's doing is basically rebranding a product and then dropship it from china. A lot of people are doing it, he just got a bigger following to sell it to. They also sell the console on amazon here for just a fraction of the price: https://amzn.to/2G3GAHW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79