VIDEO GAME REVIEW // Sid Meier's Civilization V

in #gaming7 years ago

Game - Sid Meier's Civilization V



Title: Sid Meier's Civilization® V
Genre: Strategy
Developer: Firaxis Games
Publisher: 2K Games
Release Date: 23 Sep, 2010


What is Sid Meier's Civilization V


Become Ruler of the World by establishing and leading a civilization from the dawn of man into the space age: Wage war, conduct diplomacy, discover new technologies, go head-to-head with some of history’s greatest leaders and build the most powerful empire the world has ever known. You start off with one settler which you need to place to form a city. This city will then be your capital. You will then want to build units, defences and other buildings to help you increase your military power for defence and attacking reasons, science for research, gold production, culture production and more. You then want to build more cities to increase your output. There are many different victory types within Civ 5, but the main two are Science Victory, where you need to be the first civilisation into space, or Domination victory, where you defeat all other civilisations by wiping them out and destroying/capturing their cities.

My Opinion


Civ is a game that you will start to play and then at 3 in the morning you realise that you was supposed to be getting up for 7. Once you start a game, it's incredibly hard to stop mid game and comeback to. You really just want to keep playing and finish destroying your enemies. The game is very fun single player, but it is much better with 7 other friends all facing off against each other trying to find out who the best City manager is. You will always have that friend that pretends to team up with people and then stab them in the back when they least expect it (me). There are many different leaders and ways to play the game that will benefit each play style that you may have. Everyone who plays will have a different experience, but there is one thing everyone will agree on... its extremely satisfying when you manage to drop that nuclear bomb on your friend... not so much if it is you having it dropped on you. I really recommend this game, it is currently my second most played game on steam, and I still find myself sitting there playing the game until ungodly hours in the morning. The DLC for this game is defiantly worth being picked up as well as it can add a range of different features that should have been in the game from the start such as religion victory and traders that you can send to other cities. Turn based games may not be everyone cup of tea, and I'm mostly like that as well, but weirdly, for civ... i'm completely different and love this franchise to pieces. I still remember the first time I played online against a bunch of my friends and I pretended to team up with 2 other people against one of our friends, and then pretended I was moving my units to his border, but actually ended up next to there borders on the way and declared war on the two of them. This swung the game a completely different direction and allowed for some insane 2v2 action that went strongly in our favour... Don't trust everyone, and always watch your backs.


Have you played Sid Meier's Civilization V before?


Price - £19.99 £4.99(75% Off)
You can pick up the game on Steam HERE
References - Image 1 , Image 2


-Nesbitt

Sort:  

Nice small review - though I personally prefer more comprehensive reviews before I buy, this certainly works for a lot of people :)

Great post ! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

Go for it c:

Nice review! I've been contemplating buying it (oh god Steam sale why) and this may have tipped me over the edge :'D

I love it so much, but if you get it, get ready for the late nights!

Sadly later* nights is what applies to me :'D

ahh, same as me then

Like the review! Haven't played it before, only ANO but might give it a try. =)

Watch a bit of gameplay and see what you think :)

Great review. I put well over 300 hours into Civ 5 way back and I loved every minute of it (except when Ghandi went nuclear and wrecked my pretty empire).

I hate Ghandi so much!

The only reason I quit playing Civ 5 is I got off into Europa Universalis IV. If you love Civ, I recommend you check out EU4.

Nice review mate, I used to be obsessed with Civ 5! I even made a few videos a couple years ago on the game. Funnily enough I haven't played in years but this Christmas break me and my brother played for 2 whole days, ha!

It really is good, and fantastic fun to play with friends aswell!

For sure, nothing better than screwing over one of your mates with a massive sneak attack or something hehe! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56