Gaming today vs. Gaming 20 years ago.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

logo.png

I write to you today because of a trend that is becoming more and more popular. That is game reviews and alphas and micro transactions. I am not a fan and in my honest opinion it ruins the excitement of what a full release game is about.

28 years ago when I got my first console was one of best memories. When games came out on older gen consoles there was so much excitement for games. When a new Mortal Kombat or Ninja Gaiden came out, there wasnt a game review version or play it 1 year before it officially is released as a full release. There was a anticipation of being able to play a game.

Some of the top played games have been in game review statuses for a year or more. You don't pay a full game release prices but you are stuck with a warning that the game may or may not have bugs or glitches.

I remember when Halo 3 was coming out and they were going to give you a trial of the game, only if you bought Crackdown. It lasted a week and the stats and the game play changed after when Halo officially came out. To me a trail of the game is a lot different then having customers pay 3/4 of a full price and play the game as developers are working on it and fixing issues. Then when the game is officially out and you pay the full price, you are now board of it and onto another game.

With new Battlefront II release drama over micro transactions it does make you think. EA received and still receiving flack because of micro transactions. The play to win style of any game to me takes the fun out of it. You are already paying 60.00 plus dollars for a game. Then you tell me if I want another character or gun I would need to pay more. Now paying for cosmetic items is different to me. It doesn't affect game play or statistics of a game then by all means do it. The games in the past would unlock different skins or characters if you earn them by hitting a certain achievement or beating the game on a certain difficulty. It made for more of a challenge and reward you without forking any $$$$.

In the end of my gaming rant. I will still play games and keep up with the trend of them but I will always keep in the back of my mind of the past and how far gaming has come.

Sort:  

Hello mate!

Totally agree, I complain about micro transactions and all the rest of it but when it comes down to it, as long as my mates are all playing a game I'll probably buy it to play with them regardless of anything else really.

The current trend of stripping gamers of every dollar they have is bollocks though, it really is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52