The incompletionist: 4 times when I just stopped playing before the game ends...

in #gaming7 years ago

I have a list as long my arm of games that I started but never finished, I'm sure everyone does. The games you got bored of, didn't enjoy or that you received as a gift and tried before you traded it in. Not to mention all the sandbox games that some would argue never end.

I'd like to talk about the other time you stopped playing games. The times when, you loved a game so much that you just couldn't bare to let it end. So you just stop...

You get to near the end of the game and then decide that all the characters lived happily ever after and you go play something else. Or you start again from scratch.

I had a habit of doing this a lot in my younger days. A habit I've been trying to fix since I got older. Here are 4 games that I started but couldn't bring myself to finish the first time...

1 - Final Fantasy 7

Final Fantasy 7 box art
Image from Wikipedia

I've started with the game that was in my head when I had the idea for this post. Final Fantasy 7 was the first Final Fantasy game I played and definitely the first game I stopped playing before the end.

I got as far Spoilers as the free roam section just before entering the crater before deciding that I didn't need to know how it ended and I was just happy knowing that Cloud and the gang would be soaring around the world in the Highwind forever more.

I did go back and finish Final Fantasy 7 many years later but I played using FAQs and guides to make sure I picked every nook and cranny clean of loot, experience, bonus bosses and special weapons.

I could add a few more Final Fantasy games to this list but 9 and 12 I didn't finish because let's be honest, I got bored. Which is when I discovered...

2 - Grandia

Grandia box art
Image from Wikipedia

Grandia 1 is still one of my all time favourite JRPGs and I would happily play it again from start to finish if it were ever re-released on any platform (I'm looking at you steam).

As a soppy teenager I was completely captivated by the love story between Justin and Feena and couldn't bare the thought that the game may not have a happy ending for the love struck pair.

Like Final Fantasy 7 before it I did go back and complete Grandia eventually. Once I'd put my big boy pants on and decided I needed to know how it ended. I wasn't disappointed.

I could very easily fill this list with RPGs but next we have...

3 - Batman: Arkham Knight

Batman Arkham Knight
Image from Wikipedia

Ah the Arkham series. Marvel may be winning the comic book movie fight but DC have no equal when it comes to comic book games (although from what I'm hearing from E3, Spider-man might be in with a shot).

Being the last in the Arkham series (so far) and having loved the series all the way through (even the not so great Arkham Origins) I didn't want it to end.

Yes I I know there are a bazillion riddle trophies and other collectables to gather not to mention the DLC but it was the story and the characters that made the games so enjoyable.

Characters seems to be a common thread here, it was the characters in the next game I didn't want to part with either...

4 - Dragon Age: Origins

Dragon Age: Origins
Image from Wikipedia

This one I must admit I have yet to go back and complete.

spoilers

I got as far as the choice of who should become the next king before the final battle.

I created a ridiculous mage, built up a budding romance with Morrigan and had gathered all the Grey Wardens but when it came to the final battle I couldn't bring myself to face it. I knew after Alistair's speech that not everyone would make it and so I stopped playing.

Will I go back and finish it one day? Maybe. Will it be when they release the 3rd remaster on the Play Station 7? Probably.

Conclusion

So there we are those were some of the games that I just walked away from right before the last boss or the final curtain. There are probably more buried deep in the nostalgia center of my brain but they'll have to wait for another time.

Thank you very much for reading! Were there any games you couldn't bare to finish? Did you ever finish them? Or are they still sat on your self, unfinished but in kept in a blissful happiness of never ending stories. Let me know!

Sort:  

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet!!!

Support #faithinhumanity
Blog - https://steemit.com/landmine/@tinashe/when-life-becomes-living-hell-for-landmine-victim

STEEM UPVOTE LOGO.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75