Top 10 Gaming Franchises

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)


Maybe some of you steemians never played any of this games franchises, but one thing is certain, you probably heard about them at some point in time. Some of this franchises are 20-30 years old and have released more than dozen games from their particular universes. One thing is certain, when the cash cow brings money, milk it until it dries up. This franchises are not even close to being dried up though. They are still going strong and will bring millions to their makers. I will try to show you how this games looked when they started and their modern versions. Here we go.


1. GTA

Love them or hate them, GTA games will never make you indifferent. Once you start playing you won't stop until you explore every square meter of the world. Rockstar games are really pushing the limits of gaming with GTA games. Where will we go next, who knows, but that world will be big and detailed.


2. Fallout

Postapocalyptic RPG games have never been so popular as today, Fallout started it all. Ever since Bethesda bought the rights for the game the franchise is going strong with no signs of slowing down. This is money making machine!


3. Elder Scrolls

From Arena to Skyrim, world of Elder Scrolls was never boring and with each sequel those games became more and more popular. Today the next game in the Elder Scroll series will be something huge. My favorites are Morrowind and Skyrim. 


4. Deus Ex

From intrigue based first Deus Ex game with JC Denton up to the prequel world of Adam Jensen. Deus Ex franchise is going strong, gaining more popularity, and it is the real question where will the next sequels lead us. With improved graphics this games can shine the brightest.


5. Warcraft

From simple RTS beginnings to the largest and most successful MMORPG ever. Warcraft lore and backup from Blizzard is at it's highest right now. Still going strong as ever with full tanks going forward.


6. Tomb Raider

Have you ever noticed how Lara even though she is getting older somehow gets better looking over the time. Thanks to improved graphics she gets rejuvenated every year. She was even played by Angelina Jolie in Tomb Raider movies. That is what you call popular! 


7. Final Fantasy

One of the longest running game series in the universe. Final Fanatasy 7 took the world by the balls and never let go. Soon Final Fantasy 15 is coming out and it is one of the most anticipated games ever. 15 games came out before this one. Talking about massive. 


8. Need for Speed

The most popular driving game franchise is of course Need for Speed. Nothing is even close to the popularity of this games, there were times when every year we would get one Need for Speed game. Nowadays they relaxed a bit and focused more on quality than quantity. I'm interested where will we go next with this one.


9. Doom

Castle Wolfenstein started the FPS genre, Doom cemented and reinforced the future to come. Demon killing was never this fun as it is today, just look at the screenshots and see the improvements there. 


10. Call of Duty

Love them or hate the, Call of Duty games are here to stay for a long time. You can play on any battlefield, from World War 2 to the future. Next installment will be in space so there you go. 


#gaming

Sort:  

If your a historical gamer could oyu help me find the greatest console game ever ? ? ?

A functional program called SIMANT ( i think like sim city ), surprise; your an ANT and must work to prefect your hive nest . . .

Please and Thank You : )

Here it is, you can play it online
I think this is the best site where you can play all retro games :
http://www.snesfun.com/play/sim-ant/1040

you can also choose consoles on the right bottom corner...

thank you so so so much ! ! ! it was at least LAST Millennium the last time I think i played that game : )

There was an archer bow and arrow game I recall elsewhere and of course asteroids, so once I find that old bow and arrows my bucket list will be done about games ! ! !

Thank you so much, I am old the " dark side " of 50, fat old balding ugly and smelly so hopefully this old game can help me recapture some of my youth ; )

You’re Welcome . Have a nice drink from the fountain of youth! lol

I'm not that big of an expert with console gaming. Best to google it then.

I only ever played SimAnt on my friends Macintosh, didn't know Maxis released it for console. I am sure if you get any emulator site they will have it then

thank you so so so much ! ! ! it was at least LAST Millennium the last time I think i played that game : )

There was an archer bow and arrow game I recall elsewhere and of course asteroids, so once I find that old bow and arrows my bucket list will be done about games ! ! !

Thank you so much, I am old the " dark side " of 50, fat old balding ugly and smelly so hopefully this old game can help me recapture some of my youth ; )

Notice how much games changed?
Like for example Tomb Raider :

  • in the old game her chest is a geometric shame ...somthing like a triangle.
  • in the new game wow...3D baby, no more 2D models.... and now you can fully enjoy the wonders of....well... "Boobies" (Im 5 years old I know hi hi) .
    But in my opinion 2 D is perfect on a game like dungeon siege 2 ....it just looks awesome for any year.
    PS: DOOM is the same like deungen siege...you can play it any time ...because it is just so awesome and fun!

That is why we love Lara Croft. Dungeon Siege 2 was great, one of my favorite ARPG's.

WoW = World of Warcraft ! ! ! I think in its fifth incarnation now? But it is an online subscription MMORPG and is simply amazing / ? perfection . . .

Yeah World of Warcraft released the 6th expansion last month. Huge money making machine.

I agree olso....but acording to statistics ...their subcriptions are going down...like for example on the launch day of WOW new expansion it was a big spike up, and now it is slowly going down...
I dunno what will come after WOW!
I don't expect that Overwatch will be so awesome...but this is just in my opinion.

I think OW is like a group first person shooter player versus player type thing. I think people enjoy trying to out-compete each other . . .

Blizzard aimed World of Warcraft at college level kids for the challenges these people wanted. Over time they made adjustments that now the game is almost so easy my Pet Rock has reached level 16 solo ! ! !

Once Wow was marketed to elementary school kids the trolls just invaded and now you cannot log in almost without being spat upon by some little anonymous dirt bag. If they got rid of the spit trash people they would get nicer people back but lose monthly subscriptions ; )

Plus I was so hard to find just nice people on there but I did meet my lady partner online back in 2007, so for eight years Wow has been kind to me ; not sure how many other games can claim like a decade of being almost number one : )

Math time, ten million minus 4 million leaves around 6 millions accounts, each paying US$ 15 per month with twelve months per year . . .

Yep that WOULD pay off the NATIONAL DEBT : )

Gaming to the moon!

i like the old and new school pics.

Yeah i wanted for people to see the difference and improvement from the humble beginnings.

I wondered when Doom would make an appearance.

There is no life without Doom! :)

My thoughts exactly. Spent (some would say wasted, I disagree!) countless hours in the Doomiverse.

I remember playing the original GTA in the computer lab at school, good times.

My most played was GTA 2, after that San Andreas. I played San Andreas maybe too much, one example i could fly a jet plane turned around into a tunnel and get out of the tunnel unharmed. Skill was real.

Haven't played chess in a long long time. I find GTA 5 more fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65