Top 10 Driving Games

in #gaming8 years ago


Sometimes you don't want to shoot at people in games, sometimes you just want to joy ride and listen to some music. This games are chillaxing in some cases, in other ones you will get an adrenaline rush like no other. This will be mainly arcade racing list with not too realistic driving models. Best example for that is Need For Speed franchise. I probably played most of Need For Speed games out there but will include only one game from that series. 



1. Need For Speed: Underground 2

Underground racing games were hot at the time of Fast and Furious first few movies. Underground 2 was the best in that regard. Fully customizable cars that you can make made this game the best for me. Turn on that nitro with "Riders on the Storm" on the radio and be fast.


2. GRID

Grid was more like a simulation with no open world like Need for Speed games. But this game also had that arcade feeling of responsive cars and nice driving feel to it.


3. Flatout 4

Flatout game are more destructive in nature. You could drive from buggies to trucks and all sorts of demolition derbies. Cars would loose the parts from all that destruction. Fun game.


4. Carmageddon 2

Most brutal driving game on this list. Wreck other cars and run over everything to get extra points. Not your typical driving game but it was about driving, kinda. 


5. Driver

Not your typical driving game, this one had a story where you drive around and help criminals escape the police. Driving model was great, to this day one of the most fun games I've played.


6. Rollcage

This game was crazy. You had a double sided car that could flip on both sides and do all kinds of crazy moves. Very fast speed and weapons included to beat you opponents.


7. Burnout: Paradise

Open world with great crash physics where you can just drive around and be destructive. At the time one of the best graphics and physics in racing game.


8. DIRT 3

Codemasters made a nice game from DIRT 3 with different kind of stuns to do. Fun and creative with nice graphics.


9. Trackmania Nations

Trackmania is full arcade racing game, tracks can have many big jumps, loops, flips, crazy nitro moves. You can even create your tracks for online play.


10. Fuel

This was more of the open world of road game with customizable buggies and quad bikes. Nice graphics and jumping physics.


#gaming

Sort:  

Driving games were always my favourite. Started way back with the oldschool graphics of Supersprint and then Outrun, on the Atari STs. I remember playing the first Need For Speed on an Amiga.

Yet again, some great selections here. Very hard to choose a favourite.

Agree 100%
This was my 1st racing game on PC. Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit

I must confess to you @moon32walker I am horrible at driving games!
I played :

  1. Need For Speed: Underground 2
    and
  2. Flatout 1,2 and 3 but not 4
    Need for Speed was my gateway drug to car driving games.
    I dunno why but I am just horrible at driving games.
    But now because I saw your post I am thinking to test flatout 4 because its a new game version and I just like to destroy all I see!

Give it a try. It is quite worth it if you haven't played it before. It is good to have something to relax after few hours of working on a blog post.

Haven't tried that one. Looks interesting.

Wow, I may not be into games but my kids are and will read your post to them. I am sure they will appreciate this. :)

Just don't teach them about Carmageddon ;)

I've played NFS and Burn Out myself and I agree to them being put onthis list. With Burn Out being #1 then NFS AS #2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79