The Best Historic Strategy Games

in #gaming7 years ago


First of all, greetings to all Steemfestians that will be there in Amsterdam, sorry I couldn't make it this year. Maybe next year, and the next, and the next, and the next.. Have fun boyz and girls.


On to the daily topic now.

Historic games can be a great place to learn about history of our civilization and have fun at the same time. Play and learn, have fun and get smarter at the same time. Shouldn't that be available in every school for new generations. There are a lot of historic games and they mostly come in shape of strategy games, turn based or real time, you take your pick. Even though I prefer fantasy games, historic games are welcome change of scenery. Total war and Age of Empires franchises are the most popular in that regard. I present to you some of my favorites.




Age of Empires


One of the best RTS games ever made is Age of Empires, every gamer I know played this game and loved it. Play from stone age and upgrade your civilization up to iron age. Gather resources and upgrade technologies and defeat your enemies. There are so many Age of Empires games that it is hard to say which one is the best, so I will probably make the whole franchise blog one day. 



Stronghold


This game offered similar idea like Age of Empires, but in this game you had to build your medieval castle and micro manage the economy. Multiple resources were needed to keep the castle going, from food to building materials for walls and buildings, and to mix things up you also crafted weapons for your troops for defenses. I always remember playing this game and listening Metallica tracks in the background, kinda fitted the game. 



Cossacks


Slightly younger in historic scale this excellent RTS take place in 17th and 18th century with technologies like gunpowder. This game had similar gameplay concept like Age of Empires with resource gathering and construction, however this game was played in larger scale where players could build truly massive armies of thousands fighting it out.



Anno 1701


Anno series always offered interesting historic gameplay with city and resource management. Anno 1701 took place in 18th century where player needed to manage new world colony. You can spend many hours playing one mission and balancing all the resources this game offers, and also sail the seas and defend against invaders. Very fun game.



Shogun 2 Total War


It is hard to count every Total War game out there, there are so many, and almost everyone of them is worth mentioning.I Picked this one for my passion and interest for Japan history and customs. Fighting in massive battles in 16th century feudal Japan and micro managing your empire was also a great experience.




#gaming

Sort:  

As it should be :)

Rome: Total War was legendary while the sequel sucked ass!

Yes, I guess the sequel of Rome was buggy and unoptimized.

I so much love this one <3

Civilization should at least be mentioned. :)

Shit.. damn, how did I forgot about Civilization :D

@moon32walker, steemfest seems to be the place to be. Just think how fast steemit will grow after this. Steem On Friend.

My steemit name is inspired by the price going to the moon, if not soon one day for sure. Great things ahead. Steem on @runridefly!

I was hooked on AOE for a long time. I gotta check out the latest Civ.

lol .love that age of empires, i beat all of my friend with cheat :D

Ha! I've beat mine by being more skilled ;)

I wish the iphone app was better.

I love this post, but, where is age of mythology ?? i learned so much about the different deities in this game.

Well, Age of Mythology would be more of a fantasy game considering that you can recruit fantasy units like minotaurs and cast god spells. I'll write about Age of Mythology today inside fantasy games list.

Look more at the historical details they give

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00