The Best 4X Games

in #gaming8 years ago


4X means explore, expand, exploit and exterminate. Those four actions can be implemented in any sort of setting, from historic to the future ones, or some brand new interesting fantasy worlds. 4X games are amongst the most time consuming games around, but also most detailed and complex. One game can last for days, depending on your strategy choices. There are few more games that I wanted to place in this list so I will probably make another series. Here are some of the best 4X strategy games.



Civilization V


From stone age to space exploration. Civilization games are some of the most inspiring pieces of game artwork. Sid Meier truly is a master of this genre. There are so many activities which you can do to improve you civilization,  you can go with culture type of win, you can be an aggressor or you can advance faster than opposing civilizations just by being the best in science. One of the everlasting franchises that will never die. Got to check out Civ VI, game is getting great reviews. 



Warlock: Master of the Arcane


Game developers of Majesty games Paradox Interactive created this 4X strategy game and did a great job with it, game is fun and very strategic. Some say this is just a fantasy clone of Civilization games because of the similal UI and hexagonal grid for movement of your units. If you like fantasy races inside 4X games you can ignore bad mouthing of the game and have fun. 



Sins of a Solar Empire


Chose between 3 races, Advent, Vasari or TEC, upgrade huge tech tree and destroy your opponents. There are many classes of ships in this game and you can even have your hero ships, closest game to compare would be something like Warcraft 3 heroes. Your hero ships gain levels and get to be more powerful. Expansions introduced end game massive titan ships that can destroy the whole planets and can also level up to be even more destructive. 



Endless Legend


This 4X strategy game takes place on an alien planet Auriga with 11 different alien civilizations, each with it's own strategy elements. This 4X game is more modern for technical standpoint and it is graphically very detailed with sharper edges and increased resolutions. Beautiful game and also very complex and time consuming. But if you're a fan of 4X games look no further.



The Fallen Enchantress


This one is more like Warlock: Master of the Arcane, fantasy 4X game with so many different customization options for your factions. Player can custom craft his units and heroes or he can just build default ones depending which faction you chose. You can also explore the world and do quests for faster resource gathering and leveling your hero. Deep and detailed 4X game truly worth your time.




#gaming

Sort:  

4X is probably my favorite genre. Good choices here. I've played every civ game around the time it came out and I would have to say that Civ V has been my least favorite. Still, I logged plenty of hours in it.

Tnx. Also one of my favorite genres. I missed Age of Wonders 3 and Beyond Earth. Beyond Earth was specially interesting for me because of all that aliens are now barbarians deal :)
I guess when you play Civ that much you get fatigued quickly by new sequels. My 1st Civ game was Civ 4 so I'm very fresh into the franchise.

Very surprised to see that Age of Empires did not make the list. Talk about a game that was fun but at times would tick you off beyond means. Still a great game to play overall.

Age of Empires is your standard Real Time Strategy game, not 4X , great game though I agree.
Tnx for the comment :)

I must have misunderstood what the meaning of 4k gaming is. I am not much of a PC gamer. The only thing I have touched was WoW (World of Warcraft) which took over my life for four years. Also I played Age of Empires. I am on the console side. Now my buddy Josh he knows all about PC. I guess Joe should do some research before replying. Great post keep up the good work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65