PC Game Review - Deus Ex Mankind Divided

in #gaming8 years ago



Introduction


This is a game about augmented human Adam Jensen making that evolutionary leap into the unknown and making icarus landing just like some demigod amongst men. If you are interested in topics like Cyberpunk, racial segregation (in this case humans vs cyborgs), Illuminati schemes and good old Deus Ex RPG action you might want to read this. I'm a huge Deus Ex franchise fan and I will try to be as objective in this review as I can. 



Gameplay


Story takes place 2 years after the events from the Human Revolution game with our hero Adam Jensen working as a Interpol agent who is trying to find out who stands behind bombings inside Chech city of Prague in year 2029. Let's just say without spoiling the game that there is a lot of intrigue to be solved in this game. Players can partake in exploration of I must say one of the best looking games I have ever played. Level of detail is staggering here. 

In doing your main story objectives and side quests you will earn experience and get praxis points that are used to upgrade your augments. Players have multiple choices here. You can build Jensen as a killing cyber machine, or go ninja stealthy cyber machine. My choice was to go like Tank. Jensen is an advanced cyborg, why not use all of his potential for killing instead of boring sneaking around, that is my way of thinking. All I can say that it is way more fun to go all guns and augments blazing than stealth, but every player is different so you do your thing. 

So, my build was based around brand new augmented exploding projectile Nanoblade that can clear rooms easy and if some fool comes close I just use good old Typhoon explosive from the first game.

2nd big part of the game is inventory management and itemization. There are many options here, you can pick up many upgradeable weapons, grenades, consumables and various crafting parts for your special items. Inventory management can be intensive at times because of the console like UI making things over complicated, but you will get used to it.

 


After you made a plan for you character development it is time for the action, and this was the best part of this game. Adam using his full potential on his enemies is a blast, AI keeps things interesting with with usage of cover and grenades, there are also some armored enemies that are tough to take down, but with smart use of armor piercing ammo and EMP grenades they can be put down easy. 



Final Words


You will need strong hardware if you wish to play this game smoothly, no old quad core, no only 4Gb of ram and average GPU, that is not gonna cut it for this game. Game also suffers from bad optimization, so upgrade is required. I pushed it trough with my older PC that served me well until this game, I had a slide show inside hub areas of Prague. It is relatively short game that can be finished inside 2 days. Story is interesting enough but it falls short after some climactic moments that end way too soon. But as I said in gameplay paragraph there is a ton of fun to be had playing Mankind Divided, one of the best looking games ever created. Once I upgrade my PC I will play this game again to fully experience the immersion. 



Final Score 89/100 Great!



#gaming

Sort:  

I didn't read yet. Does this have big spoilers?

I was careful there so don't worry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65