Gaming Retrospective - Wizardry 8

in #gaming7 years ago



Wizardry 8 is an old school classic dungeon crawler RPG from 2001 and it is last in this long lasting game series. Wizardry 8 was developed by Sir-Tech known for their epic Jagged Alliance games. This game is very popular in older gaming circles while most of the new gamers have unfortunately missed this gem. Story is a mix of fantasy and science fiction that strangely works great together. The goal of our party is to find three very difficult to obtain artifacts in order to ascend as gods in a world of Dominus.




This game has robust character system and there are 15 classes to chose from. Those classes range from classic Fighters to Rogues and different Mage types that use many different schools of magic. Battles can be fought in turn based system or in continuous phase mode. This is a very long and deep RPG with so much to do and with so many enemies to slay. Voice acting and ambient music were done masterfully in a very detailed and strange SF/Fantasy setting. Truly one of the greats.  




#gaming

Sort:  

Hey I played Jagged Alliance series and Wizardry Nemesis in my school days. Wizardry 8 is abit similar to Baldur's Gate I feel?

Baldur's Gate is isometric infinity engine game, this is first person view roguelike dungeon crawler.

I see... Wizardry Nemesis is a first person game if I rem correctly but for Wizardry 8 you get to control a squad like Baldur's Gate?

Yes.

Thanks for the review!

nice man as always!

I played Wizardry 1 on an apple 2e...... was fun then too! I play 8 also with my sister. Great series!

Ah, man. Sometimes I wish I had been born a few years earlier. I missed out on a lot of cool older games that weren't super mainstream like this one. Looks like a really fun RPG.

I don't know, I've been a bit more of a fan of the Might and Magic RPGs - just like the lore of those worlds better.

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in today's "best of gaming"?

Yep, I also have a bias for Might and Magic! My first love in this genre was Eye Of The Beholder, though. Don't know how many hours of that I played in my youth!

Nice little post though - love all these retrospectives.

Might and Magic, Ultima, Wizardry.. those franchises always had great games.
Sure.

Very good postings, and games are very popular now .. I like this game .. thank you post

Regards Steemit We are waiting for your next posting

Wizards and Warriors was an excellent pseudo sequel to the series which is definitely a must play for fans.

A friend of mine was playing this at the time. He really liked it! I didn't play it though.

Very good post you won a follower, if you want to follow me I will also be uploading game content to grow the community of players in steem-it

Good old memories of might and magic series :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06