Gaming Retrospective - Warhammer: Dark Omen

in #gaming7 years ago



Before Total War and Total War: Warhammer there was Warhammer: Dark Omen, a strategy game that had a tremendous success all the way back in 1998. The game was developed by Mindscape with some help of Games Workshop, a company that is producing everything the with key word Warhammer in it. Dark Omen is based on a fantasy version of Warhammer, the story takes us on an adventure with a mercenary commander Morgan Bernhardt who is trying to stop the sudden appearance of the Undead hordes. Dialogue in the game was fully voice acted and after every mission you would hear an amusing banter between the characters.




Gameplay consists of several gaming mechanics like gathering the best troops, leveling them and using them strategically in every battle. Before every battle you would have to pick ten squads of units and spread them around to fully use the terrain and their abilities. Even though the Undead were the main enemies, in many occasions we fought the Ork hordes also. Player armies are comprised mostly of Imperial forces, but as the game progresses we get the help from some Elvish and Dwarven units that help a lot during harder encounters. Dark Omen was one of the first tactical strategy games with every feature any modern game could have today, do not let the older graphics fool you, this game truly is a classic.




#gaming

Sort:  

Hmmm... I'm confuse, I thought warhammer is a futuristic RTS? Is this another game and it is not related to that?

this game makes me remember ages of empire

Oh wow! I still remember this game. I played this with friends from the neighbourhood. Good times, good times!

upvoted, thanks for what you are doing ☺

good share.

Your content is awesome. Keep it up

This post made me remember Warhammer Online... I miss it. I played the trial back in high school and hoped that eventually I would get a job and pay to play it... but then they shut it down and my hopes and dreams went down the drain pipe.

It was a sad day.

Lol XD

Nice share ! I remember this game, i was 11 the first time i played it. I remember these days. I played it along with AOE 2 and Warcraft 3. It's great to see a fellow old school gamer on Steemit !

Just follow and resteem this post if your steem.power is zero i will upvote your one post
upvote this post then comment your post link which you want should I upvote it
If you not following me you should follow me then do it
https://steemit.com/upvote/@crypto-booster/upvoting-started-followers

Flagged for spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94