Gaming Retrospective - The Temple of Elemental Evil

in #gaming7 years ago



The Temple of Elemental Evil is an RPG from 2003 developed by good old Troika Games. This is a Forgotten Realms game just like Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, Neverwinter Nights, and all are based on Dungeons&Dragons rule set. A fantasy realm of Faerun is where all those games take place in and where I've spent many fun hours. Temple of Elemental Evil was not your typical D&D game, mainly because every battle was unique and you had to prepare accordingly, therefore game wasn't very forgiving as other games I've listed above were. Our adventurers begin their adventure in a small town of Hommlet troubled by the nearby ancient temple filled with all sorts of horrors and riches.




You can create a party of five classes based on D&D 3.5 rule set, you could create standard classes like Clerics, Druids, Fighters, Rouges, Mages, Rangers and more, and you could also create a multiclass character. Take you pick and go clear thematically four different elemental wings of the temple, each wing giving specific challenges and traps you need to overcome. Game also used more modern graphics engine at the time that was very eye pleasing, however, there were a few shortcomings to this game and those were a short game length and I guess difficulty for some, other than than Temple of Elemental Evil was and still is worth a playthrough. 




#gaming

Sort:  

I need to get this one during the next GOG sale and make an in-depth review. I played the original version when it was released. It has a very dedicated and hardcore modding community and I'm looking forward to adding some mods to it. Especially since a couple of years ago the WorldBuilding tools were discovered as part of a Polish patch. So I'm hoping a lort of the bugginess and general lack of proper balance have been fixed ny the community.

I play this for at least 250 hours (not in a row). I bet I could play it right now and still have fun.

It was a sweet game, one of my D&D favorites.

My filings for that game are like yours for Dgb. ;)

Digibyte... Don't speak about that cursed coin :)

2003 was a great year for gaming industry. Max payne 2, Beyond Good and Evil and ofc Gothic II: the night of the raven... I miss games like these :)

An excellent game, the battle of good and evil develops with subsequent transitions from round to round, you can have a good time. Thank you @moon32walker

Nice game thank's to share those informations with us , upvote and follow good luck bro !

I was a really a sweet game and eye-pleasing graphics always held me very tightly even sometimes I forgot to take my tea which was lying next to me and I had to heat it again. Some games really make you fall in love with them.

Oh man! I never knew this game existed. Wish I had back in the day I would have loved it. I used to have the actual Temple of Elemental Evil adventure module for AD&D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70