Gaming Retrospective - Septerra Core

in #gaming7 years ago



Septerra Core is one the most interesting RPG's ever created. Game was released back in 1999 and was developed by long gone Valkyrie Studios. Septerra Core had one of the most memorable story, characters, combat mechanics and very imaginative worlds I ever got the chance to immerse myself into. World of Septerra Core is like no other, the planet is hollow and comprised of 7 layers or shells, every shell has it's own specific environments, civilizations and history. Some shells are more developed than others and each and every one has an interesting story for players to explore. Game's main character is Maya, a junker from shell 2 that is trying to survive from scraps discarded from more advanced shell. Maya will have to explore every shell and gather pretty interesting and diverse party in order to beat the bad guy who is trying to reach the core that unlocks tremendous power of destruction.





Prerendered backgrounds from this game look great even today, just remember this is a game from 1999 and it looks perfectly playable. Game had world map and many locations you could explore, there are even some point and click adventure game elements to it. Septerra core had turn based combat system with a twist, there was an active time system with three breaking points, time will fill the bars of characters and every breaking point will produce a stronger attack. There are so many combinations and combo moves you can  do with this system. You can also use special cards and summon massive creatures that remind me of Final Fantasy ones.  If you like unique worlds with great immersion   you should check this game out.





#gaming

Sort:  

I somehow missed this game! It looks pretty good, makes me sad I never played it...

Oh it is never too late :) I strongly believe this is one of the forgotten RPG gems worth talking about.

I will have to add it to my list, but my 'to play' list is becoming a bit strenuous... I am not sure how I will get through it all.

Eat healthy, live long and you can play them all, that is my plan :)

I plan on immortality! If the head transplant scheduled in December by Russian doctors work, then we are estimated to be 15 years off...

I had it but somehow not gone further then 2 hours or so. Can't even say why now....

Knowing you, you probably found some minor issue and quickly uninstalled ;)

lol then you don't know me. I am more the opposite. I am perfectionist so I end all my games if possible.

If you don't remember the issue you had with the game, then perhaps it is time to replay it and see the errors of your ways :)

I don't think I still have it. Does it run on modern Win?

I think I now remember: I could not found out how to go on??
Was pre-internet era after all.

Oh yes, there were some nasty puzzles, I managed to solve one after few days of trying, perfectionist like you :) It is probably the one with the flask and acid you needed to pour in to free the gargoyle head in order to unlock the next area, the flask was bought at the store which is obvious now but it wasn't obvious at the time. It works for sure on new Windows.

You know, you may be right. I think I remember that. Can't be that many games where you pour something on a gargoyles head!

And then you take the head and place it on headless statue and gg. There were few more like that in the game, made me insane but also made the game so much sweeter when I finished it.

This looks like a fun game. I have to be careful when it comes to games. :D Last game I played, I was hooked. :O

Got to be hooked on something, better games than blow :)

I'm hooked on Steemit :D

great cover @moon32walker , keep it up !!

Looks fun! Thank you for your post :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65