Gaming Retrospective - Disciples 2

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

Disciples 2 from artistic perspective and gameplay perspective is one of the best turn based strategy games ever. Developed by Strategy First and released in 2002 this game certainly was a decent competitor to forever long lasting Heroes of Might and Magic 3. Disciples 2 continued it's fantasy story in more of a depressive and almost noir dark fantasy setting. For me the most astonishing feature of the game was it's absolutely beautiful art style that I haven't seen recreated anywhere to this day. Great looking 2D models as you level them become increasingly stronger and you can "evolve" them to even more powerful units that look even better.

dis1.jpg

dis2.jpg

There are 4 races in the game each with it's special and distinct art style and units with different mechanics, races feel completely different from each other. Dwarfs, Humans, Undead and Demons all had their special units and spells you can cast while exploring the lands. Unit upgrades are the best part of the game, for example Undead unit evolution from simple Wyvern to Doomdrake, Death Dragon, Dracolich and Dreadwyrm is very different from heroes 3 Bone Dragon to Ghost Dragon upgrade, in Disciples 3 you needed to fight to get those units upgraded, while in Heroes 3 you just recruit them. Here you actually had that oh now I have these badass looking units feeling and would go and conquer the lands. Disciples 2 was certainly one of the more underrated games with great qualities I still fondly remember to this day, very close to a perfect game.

dis3.jpg

dis4.jpg

#gaming

Sort:  

Interesting interface. Doesn't look to shabby for a 2002 game!

I really like turn-based strategy games, and this one is pure nostalgia. I remember taking a lot of time building up my empire and heroes.

Maybe Disciples II was inferior to other TBS released at the moment, but there's a little something that makes it special, I think its unique style and atmosphere. Thanks for bring me back how much I enjoyed this game! I think I'll take a look back at my retro games, and maybe even make some reviews ;)

Nice game thank's for sharing , good luck

Tnx for stopping by.

Too bad:(( Now that you're writing it like this, I wish I'd played the game back then. I looked at it, but it didn't convince me. As I said, too bad. Thanks anyway, even if I feel bad now ;)

It is ok, everything turned out fine :)

Great post dude this looks like a cool game.

Disciples I have heard a lot about this game before but didn't get to play it also haven't gone through a very detailed review of this game before.

It's sounds very interesting to me as a game developer.
The retro kind of looks are really attractive of the game.

You know in game development there's a lot of things like game designs like how different stuffs works in the game how they behave and stuffs and well it works smoothly gracefully which is about the game development part, going through these well established games gives a lot insights into how the game in your mind should play and execute.

Disciples has it all required for an game to be fun and interactive gives a lot to discover which you might wanna add to your dream game.

I love how detailed and straight to the point you were in your post.

Take a look at my recent funny post. 😂

https://steemit.com/funny/@asteemian/dear-santa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71