Gaming Retrospective - Alan Wake

in #gaming7 years ago



Alan Wake is a third person perspective adventure game released in 2010 and developed by Remedy Entertainment. For anyone who remembers this game one thing is certain, atmosphere and immersion created in this semi-horror game was one of the best ones to experience to this day. Heavy use of environmental lightning, dampened sounds and all around spooky tone made this game one unforgettable experience. The players take the role of a novelist Alan Wake trying to uncover the mystery behind his wife disappearance in a remote city of Bright Falls. His investigation very soon leads him to a something that can easily be described as playable Twin Peaks.




In this strange world of Alan Wake light is the main source of damage you can do to your spooky enemies surrounded by darkness shields. Flashlight is one of the best "weapons" in this game and finding batteries to power it is very important. Almost any other light source like flares would also be very helpful. Once you weaken the enemies with light it is time to use good old fashioned guns to put them down for good. In it's episodic style of storytelling and dark environments Alan Wake offered something new and refreshing, for any fan of horror genre and immersive gameplay, this game is one of the classics you should check out.




#gaming

Sort:  

I heard about this game but I did not played it yet . It will be a good addition to my small game collection. Thanks for the review!

Looks like a neat game. Not sure it's really old enough for a retrospective though :)

I often think that as well, when do we put a retro mark on a game - how many years must pass until game should be considered a retro game? I consider retro anything older than 5 years. Or should we call that a young retro? ;) #almostretro

My arbitrary criteria is 10 years. Consoles generally last longer than five years commercially and I don't generally think of a game as retro if the system it came out for is still being sold. PCs are a little different but 10 years still seems like a good number to me. I swear some PC games like Starcraft and Warcraft were on the shelf longer than that (maybe still are). Of course, retro can also be a style too...

I'm playing this game right now, backwards compatible with XONE

i wouldn't expect you to play this game :D

I played so many games you wouldn't expect I would :)

yeah ! great game, I love it. The light management is very good!! And the ending... omg !

great preview @moon32walker i like this game

nice review.... i miss my school/college days :(

one of the best game i've played :D

Nice to known an unknown game..., where the main magic is power...

I love retrospective games and they are like the food for my hyperactive brain. I love solving the mysteries in these games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65