Rumor : New BlackOps4 supposedly will not have Single Player

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

From what sources are saying, BO4 will not have single player. This will be the first installation that wont include the long tradition of a single player experience, but is that really a bad thing?

There have been iconic stories to be told in this series, but honestly, I haven't enjoyed one in a very long time. Like, Modern Warfare 2 long time. I did complete the Black Ops 3 campaign but it left me bewildered, clueless, and sad that I was sober through the entire campaign. That kind of campaign is what broke me from it, and considering MW2's massive success and engaging storyline, I haven't really hoped for better since then anyways. I actually didn't even start BO3's campaign until me and a buddy of mine were bored with multiplayer and gave it a shot via co-op.

The COD franchise has been lacking in the storyline. I haven't played WW2, but I have heard from critics that it is a fairly decent story. It was the mechanics revolving around the loot box that kept me from even wanting it. Unfortunately, I was in the Boots On Ground bandwagon, and was horribly disappointed to see them finally return to it...but pack it with bullshit loot boxes. So since then, I have kind of been on a boycott with the COD series.

Back to the point here, I don't honestly see a downside right now. However, I know there are people that want that story there. I have always been more of a multiplayer end-game person. So cut the chances of a bad story, gimme some great maps with great weapons that are played on good servers, and I would be happy. I don't expect COD to beat out their glory days with stories. I think most of the issue is that they are so far from relatable. BO3 and IW...WTF is this. MW2...Wow this could actually happen. BO1...This could have happened in the past. You get the point. I am a little more of a realist with stories. If a story gets too far away from logic, I cant enjoy it. And yes, I have a slim list of movies and TV shows that I like. Lol. Games go hand in hand. I have a few exceptions, but for the most part I get disconnected depending on how things play out.

Without a story, I would live just fine. If you haven't seen my DTube, I play a lot of Ironsight. (I am not advertising). I play the hell outta this game. It handles a lot like old COD, it's free-to-play with now p2w, and it doesn't have a story. I LOVE IT. I think this may be what COD is trying to replicate. Just make it the shooter for the casual combatant, with room for the professionals to join in.

Honestly, I think the last time I was disappointed in a storyless FPS...was Rainbow 6 Siege. That would have made one hell of a story, Please up-vote and leave a comment below! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mirathekilla! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50