Why Do I Play Racing Games?

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I spoke about 'Why I play Simulators' in my last post, so I thought, why not explain why I enjoy playing racing games?

It started from a young age of playing Gran Turismo 2 on the PS1, the graphics back then were amazing even if you wouldn't think that these days, now from that I can remember jumping to Gran Turismo 4. This was where I spent my of my house when playing a console, it was on the PS2 and we even did the 24 Hour Le-Mans races (Even though we did them in B-Spec with 3 times sped up!) But it still took around 9 hours! It was a brilliant game, from messing around choosing each other's cars so one person would get the slow milk float while the other person got an F1 car, a few other games I played on the PS2 was the Dukes of Hazzard game, MotoGP 03 and the odd thing is this is when I started playing Crash Team Racing.

gran-turismo-4.jpg

After the PS2 era, it was a jump onto the PS3, I started to play a tad of Ridge Racer and then moved onto Gran Turismo 5 Prologue when it came out. We played this a lot and then once Gran Turismo 5 came out we moved onto that, we spent many hours and even bought another copy so our family could play against each other. This is when I bought my first steering wheel, the Logitech Driving Force GT, it was a bit of a letdown but we did purchase it second hand.

dynolicious-performance-meter-driving-force-gt-wheel-tekonsha-prodigy-brake-controller-passport-9500ci-radar-detector-stickysheets-lint-roller-and-the-tire-racks-seasonal-tire-tote-inline-2-photo-4.jpg

This is when I decided to sell this wheel, this was at the same time as Gran Turismo 6 was coming out, which was basically Gran Turismo 5 with some missing features... which was odd. But I decided to take the plunge and buy a Logitech G25. This is when I started playing games like Project Cars on the PC. This meant I had more and more games to play with it, also if you could include games like Euro Truck Simulator I did play them too!

17041.png

The disappointment of Gran Turismo 6 made me want to purchase and Xbox One, so I took the plunge and bought one, this coupled with Forza Horizon 3 and Forza 6 made for a great buy, but that's when I decided to also sell the G25 and buy a brand new Logitech G920 for the Xbox. This made Forza amazing and I did a lot of car meets online for people to enjoy.

g920-racing-wheel.png

The problem was though I heard some rumors that Forza was going to come out on PC and decided after a few months to sell the Xbox One, I had also had some problems with the steering wheel breaking a few times so I also took that back, this is when I bought my G27 that I have now and instead played games on my PC such as Assetto Corsa, Project Cars etc.

logitech-g27-racing-wheel-review (1).jpg

Then finally, Forza Apex test game out on the PC and then the one I was waiting for Forza Horizon 3, and to be honest this is where my racing story ends. Hoping to purchase some new racing games soon and will hopefully upgrade my steering wheel in the future.

65223cc4-0d1b-4665-90f9-32c158b46d0a.jpg

This mixed with the fact that I love cars has made my love racing games, I don't think I will ever stop playing racing games, the noise the games now have and the graphics. They're incredible. They're just going to keep getting better and I have no problem with that, with the mix of VR they're even better now. I can't wait to see what the next 10-20 years has for racing games, games like iRacing are incredible and they really show how competitive racing in the virtual world should work.

Do you enjoy racing games? If so, what ones do you play?

Photo 1 - Gran Turismo 4 (http://www.teamvvv.com/assets/js/ckeditor/kcfinder/upload/images/gran-turismo-4)
Photo 2 - Logitech Driving Force GT (http://media.caranddriver.com/images/media/51/dynolicious-performance-meter-driving-force-gt-wheel-tekonsha-prodigy-brake-controller-passport-9500ci-radar-detector-stickysheets-lint-roller-and-the-tire-racks-seasonal-tire-tote-inline-2-photo-461806-s-original)
Photo 3 - Logitech G25 (https://secure.logitech.com/assets/17041/17041)
Photo 4 - Logitech G920 (http://gaming.logitech.com/assets/53683/13/g920-racing-wheel)
Photo 5 - Logitech G27 (http://www.openwheeler.co.uk/images/logitech-g27-racing-wheel-review)
Photo 6 - Forza Horizon 3 (http://compass.xboxlive.com/assets/65/22/65223cc4-0d1b-4665-90f9-32c158b46d0a?n=Ford_ShelbyGT350R_WM_ForzaHorizon3_PreOrder_story)

Sort:  

Expensive hobby, then again so is Steemit :) lol unless you get paid to play.

Love to be paid to play games! I suppose that is what Youtube is for!

Then finally, Forza Apex test game out on the PC and then the one I was waiting for Forza Horizon 3, and to be honest this is where my racing story ends. Hoping to purchase some new racing games soon and will hopefully upgrade my steering wheel in the future.

I hope you can have a new racing game someday, fun if we play racing games.

Racing games are one of my favourite genres, hoping for some good new games soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65