[Board Games] Stratego

in #gaming6 years ago

Made a great find at a garage sale today. Stratego is a classic game, which has been around since the 1910's in one form or another, and continues to be played today.

IMG_20180922_210801481~2.jpg

IMG_20180922_210816740~2.jpg

Over the years, many different versions have been produced, including Star Wars, LotR, Transformers, Civil War, and Narnia, to name a few. This version is from 1977, and follows the classic French military theming, as you can tell from the guy on the box with the sweet moustache and uniform.

The components are pretty good quality, but could be better, with the board being a standard single fold cardboard playing surface of the time period...

IMG_20180922_210907487~2.jpg

.. and the pieces being plastic.

IMG_20180922_210843371~2.jpg

I had never played this game, but I have memories of watching my cousins play it when I was a kid. I was a bit young to join in then, so tonight was my first experience.

IMG_20180922_201431009~2.jpg

Each player begins with identical pieces, placing them on their side of the board in whatever configuration they wish, filling in the last 4 rows with pieces. Most pieces have a number value, which determines the outcome of the battle when pieces fight. But since you don't know where your opponent has placed their pieces, you often don't know how you'll fare going into a battle in the beginning. As the game progresses, you gain more info about your opponent's forces, but at the beginning, you're flying blind.

IMG_20180922_201421049~2.jpg

In addition to the numbered troop pieces, each side has 5 bombs and 1 flag. The goal of the game is to capture your opponent's flag. If your piece hits a bomb, that piece is defeated, unless it's a miner, who can defuse the bomb.

IMG_20180922_200803085.jpg

I really enjoyed this game, and look forward to playing again. It's not insanely heavy, but it does involve enough strategic planning and memory to keep it interesting. I can definitely see some things I could have done better, so I plan to tweak my strategy slightly next time I play.

Sort:  

Loved Playing this Game when I was a Kid. It's ironic how MINERS find all the Precious Metals.........@methus

Well since there's no Prospector piece, who else would it be? 🙂

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I love Stratego. It's one of those games that I grew up with that I found to be incredibly interesting. It's relatively simple by modern standards, but endlessly replayable and fun.

One of the things that I find really interesting about it, and that you don't see a lot in other board games, is the concept of hidden information in adversarial play. That's something you see in card games, but it really manages to do things that you don't see other games do.

That means that some of the elements are simplified, sure, since other than the Scout you don't typically have the ability to move units in a special way, but it's also really cool how it provides a layer of tactics that you don't see in many other games, and does so without relying on gimmicks.

Great analysis. Over the course of the game, it became clear that the power lay in giving your opponent as little information as possible about what your pieces were. There was a subtle sublevel of implied bluffing based solely on movement. Several times I was able to "get away with things" because my opponent assumed I had a better piece than I did.

Looks interesting. I haven't played this one either

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85