You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The First Game That I Never Made

in #gaming7 years ago

My son is very interested in designing his own game as well but he too has hit roadblocks and is too stubborn to ask for help...or to take classes. He thinks he'll learn what he needs on YouTube. sigh

On one hand, I have always been more fascinated with the storyboards and character development. I've never branched into this kind of writing but I love working on fiction. I hope that you have the patience and time to find the love of it and finish your project!

Sort:  

Now now. Youtube is a pretty good source for some types of information :c) Its just that it can be much harder to learn via such a medium as often enough the recorded teaching flows in a different direction from that of the student. I have not had a lot of success with it - but some things can be learnt.

Game design has many interesting areas and storyboards and character development are certainly among them. Much as @creativesoul had mentioned, establishing a team is a near-must.

There do exist games that have been mostly one-wo/man shows but very few have a significant following (I think Undertale is the poster child for such). But they are exceptions.

Thanks, @merej99 for weighing in on this and I do hope that you'll have a good time exploring - and that your son sees success also. :c)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89