You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A treatise on the sorry-state of video games (incoherent ramblings masquerading as intellectual discourse)

in #gaming8 years ago

Thanks dude, this post was my first to pop my steemit cherry so I wanted to make a formal and polite impression on the community, free of vulgarity and expletives because I'm a family-friendly type of person...plus I make one hell of a spaghetti bolognese ;p

Yes, I was being mostly facetious and hyperbolic, but the underlying tones of systemic greed and dumbing down is becoming a lot more prevalent in newer titles perpetuated by AAA companies. The introduction of enhanced aim assist and/or larger hit boxes for sniping in the likes of FPS games such as Destiny and Halo 4 exacerbates the compressed skill-gap travesty, facilitating game play by changing certain mechanics to favour inexperience more than ever.

I actually enjoyed Fallout 4 for what it is, it just irks me that it could've been so much more. The minecraft spin-off should enhance the game - and it does - but I feel that they've unduly emphasised it as a main selling point of the game at the expense of the story and RPG elements, as reflected especially by its DLCs. I feel that they're attempting to dilute the game to become many things at once - a jack of all trades, as it were - to entice as wide an audience as possible, but the game just isn't of the best quality in any of those genres. I think that it might have been better to focus more on the story and RPG and let the minecraft gimmick take a backseat. The FPS-ness of the game has improved SO much, but the story and RPG are just so mediocre. If it were my first Fallout, then I'd say it was one of the best games ever, except I can't ignore that the original ones exist plus New Vegas, so I have to (perhaps unfairly) expect more of them.

Did you really like the story-telling? It felt odd to me. Lots of cliches and very hand-held choices, which simply boiled-down to "agree and do it" "disagree, but then do it anyway" "Sarcastic agreement" "Choice which feels like an autonomous different decision, but is actually de facto agreement".

There were also no revisited effects of your choices, like in New Vegas, such as how the particular choice you made affected Novac or Goodsprings or The Strip (such as the psychotic results, the independence result, the NCR result or Caesar's result) in years to come. How they flourished or faded into obscurity, you know?

I actually love change, though it might not seem like it. I just want the change to make the new game more challenging, not easier. I don't actually want a regurgitation of old games with new graphics in reality, but instead new games that make those old games look primitive, both graphically and mechanically. But seeing as things are instead getting easier, right now, I'd be grateful with just graphic enhancements of older games. The Witcher 3 is the exception as that is superior in size, quality, mechanics, story and DLC than any past game I listed. That's new school, that's popular, that's won game of the year from both younger gamers and older ones, and it did so by treating them like adults and not like noobs incapable of understanding concepts higher than amateur.

I've not played Dark Souls - thanks for the tip dude!

Thank's for reading and commenting, a picnic hamper containing cured meats is en route to your location!

Much love

MattyBooLamb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50