Retro gaming - affordable arcade experience

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I just love retro games... I'm a guy, 38 years old, and I grew up with arcade machines around me, not to mention the boom of consoles and PCs.

01.jpg

All those good times spent with friends playing games like Street Fighter II, King of Fighters '94, Cadillacs and Dinosaurs, Pang, Outrun, Power Drift, and a very long list of other games, spending our hard earned coins, just brings me a certain nostalgia and happiness and I just can't resist. Playing these games again just puts me in my little happy place... Everything is perfect...

02.jpg

In my opinion, the best an cheapest way to enjoy those amazing moments again is using emulators from multiple systems. I don't have the room (and money) to build an actual arcade cabinet, but I have an old Toshiba laptop running Linux Mint 18.2 and Retroarch. The only thing I'm missing right now is an arcade controller, but that won't take long. I'm about to build one, the cheap and easy way. ;p

03.png

But another amazing alternative that has also crossed my mind is using a Raspberry Pi 3 to emulate all those system in RetroPie, inside the actual arcade controller, and with that you can have a very portable and compact system! You can play it in your TV on the living room or take it to a friend's house and play together using another arcade or joypad controller.

04.png

So, what about a how to video on how to build a system like this? Cool uh?
There's this guy that made one and called it "Retrobox". I'll leave it here as it might be helpful to someone if he/she wants to build something similar.

If you liked this, please upvote, comment, follow and subscribe my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/besg666/videos

Sort:  

Hi @madviking thanks for sharing this I am currently researching about retrogaming now and I found retroarch as very interesting. Search it that is why i found my way here. I just have one question to are there any alternative that is as good as retroarch?

I didn't dive deep into this theme in my article because I was trying to simplify things for a beginner, but here is a little explanation about some systems available. The baseline project is called LibRetro. RetroArch is just a front end that uses LibRetro. Then there is Lakka. Lakka is a operating system (OS) built upon LibRetro, very similar in looks to RetroArch. Then there is RetroPie and Recalbox, that are built upon RetroArch/LibRetro. RetroArch is a front end that looks like the Playstation gui. But you can use other frontends like Attract Mode or Emulation Station. And this is where I'll stop, because these are well known, have great support from the community and all of them work great, so you just have to try one or some of them and decide for yourself. ;)

Cool I will start learning about those you have mentioned it sounds interesting. :)

It really is! Have fun! ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @madviking to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52