Perfect is the Enemy of Good

in #gaming6 years ago

Long story short, my progress has been incredibly slow recently, and I've been bad at blaming a lot of it on my day job. Evidently I'm still writing for this blog just fine, but my actual game work's been pretty much impossible to get through because I'm just not "in the zone" and as a result I'm limping along really slowly.

I try to watch/listen to RPG stuff fairly frequently, both to hear what people have problems with and what they enjoy so that I can improve my own creations and make sure that they fill a niche.

But today I was linked to a video on (of all things) painting miniatures that started to move toward a more philosophical approach, which is usually enough to make me watch.


The Price of Perfection, by Atom Smasher of Tabletop Minions

The real thing that I always remember when something comes up is a saying that I heard somewhere that "perfect is the enemy of good."

I feel like right now in Hammercalled's development, and Segira more specifically, I've lost sight of that notion. I'm probably going to relax my deadline to mid-December, which should give me enough time to do something good even with the lack of energy and time I've had recently. Then I'm going to release it no matter what.

My absolute hard deadline is December 24, and we'll see how that goes. That's going to push back Hwaet and Genship Exiles, but that's going to be fine if it means a good game that's out this year.

Sort:  

Uh then it will be like a christmas present =)

I still have to watch the video but I know the urge to achieve a perfect result and sometimes it's good to have and sometimes I am just wasting my time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully. December 24 is sort of a traditional release date for me, and it makes things easier because I'll be coming into holidays and not only have time to do last-minute tweaks but also then follow the post-release.

Commercially it's probably an awful release time, but the tabletop RPG industry is much more word-of-mouth than others.

i am not sure i agree that perfect is the enemy of good, but it is definitely the enemy of finished.which in some sense is another way of saying the same thing

I think a good target is "your personal best +1", since that way you don't get complacent but you still manage to hit the point where you get stuff done.

yes that is a good way of putting it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65769.61
ETH 2674.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86