Your Brain on Video Games

in #gaming7 years ago

A bit of a short post today, I recently found this TED Talk (Even though its a few years old) and thought it was pretty awesome.

Daphne Bavelier Talks about how playing Video Games (In moderation) can improve various cognitive functions and will be further improved in order to help patients who have various neurological disorders in order to improve cognitive function in their day-to-day lives. She discusses the implications on the brain which they have researched in the lab, and gives various examples (Including one that you can follow yourself in the talk), which really allows us to see exactly how gaming can improve various functions like tracking, memory and spatial awareness.


Source

Nevertheless I think this is an awesome video, that anyone and everyone should see. Just remember, the next time someone tells you to 'put down the controller' or 'go outside', Tell them that you're practicing your cognitive awareness!

Sort:  

they can also lead to unprecedented story addiction...

The story of this last week...

Hello, I am Sosky and I am addicted to Witcher 3... Haven't even posted on steem... Maybe some music production here and there but 5 to 7 hours of Witcher 3 every day are mandatory.

I hate my lack of control...

Oh absolutely :) But I love getting addicted to a brilliantly crafted story in games. HAHA I'm sure theres probably a Gamers-Anonymous for addicted gamers somewhere in the world.

Even from childhood, I knew that some of the more taxing games were good for my brain. I learned about world geography through years of playing Railroad Tycoon!

Haha yeah same, but there are many things I've learned (From Daphne) about the games I used to play, which looking back I understand why now I have such good spatial awareness and memory (Not to boast), but Its amazing to think that if I had not played those games, would my mind be as sharp and effective?

I wish I could say that about my memory! Logical thinking, and decent special awareness though so I'd like to thank the Spectrum and Amiga for that!

Awesome! I'm glad you have similar experiences, hell even your memory could have improved (and you just don't know it, that is the question :P)

I'm pretty sure it hasn't but I take your point!

I learned about history while playing Europa Universalis 4 :D

That's pretty awesome! Games can be an amazing way to learn history as History is the easiest inspiration for games as we can re-experience the time

Congratulations @locikll! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65