Why Soundtracks in games are Awesome!

in #gaming7 years ago

I used to not pay much attention to soundtracks in games (sorry to all of the game composers out there), it wasn’t something I focused on, and certainly not something I appreciated. However, a number of my recent posts have been focused on how I have matured, and how this maturation has brought to light many features in games I perhaps missed or didn’t view with importance. Gaming soundtracks are one of them.

Reflecting back on some of the games I have played in the past, the songs and music are so influential it’s almost a wonder how I missed it in my early years of playing games.

So, why is the soundtrack so important to me? Let’s run through it.

1) IT BREATHES LIFE INTO THE GAME

Soundtracks have an incredible ability to turn what is already a beautiful view, or an intense fight, or wandering through a cave, into something special. A beautiful view suddenly becomes a window into the gaming world, a wondrous sight that you are able to behold as if you are actually there. An intense boss battle becomes an epic showdown for the fate of the world you are protecting from annihilation. Wandering through a cave becomes an adventure into the dark unknown, an abyss that curiosity will not let go unexplored. Everything becomes so much more immersive and intense, and I love it.

On top of amplifying what is already happening, the soundtrack can also alter how you feel.

The emotions that soundtracks can create can be spell bounding, and can add another level to an already amazing game to help it achieve new heights. This brings me to my next point…

2) IT CAN CREATE UNFORGETTABLE MEMORIES

Emotions are at the core of some of the longest lasting memories we have, and games are no exception when it comes to evoking emotions. If soundtracks can trigger emotions, and emotions lead to memories, the link between a soundtrack and memories is undeniable. When I hear songs from games I have played in the past, whether it be in the last week or even as far as 10 years ago, it can trigger some intensely vivid memories. All it takes is to close my eyes and for a moment, it as if I am sitting there playing through that exact part of the game again, and it is breath-taking to be able to experience fond memories such as those so clearly.


source

To this day any time I hear Saria’s song from Zelda: The Ocarina of Time, it’s as if for a brief moment I am back in Hyrule with the warm sun on my face, Navi by my side, solving puzzles and rushing to crush Ganon once and for all. The feeling is indescribable.

3) IT IS GENUINELY ENJOYABLE TO LISTEN TO

Some gaming soundtracks are just a great jam from time to time. Nostalgia aside for a moment, when I am walking around town or heading to university sometimes I just can’t help but switch on ‘Hopes and Dreams’ from Undertale. Obviously this might just be me, but the way the song makes me feel (along with other non-gaming songs) is awesome.

This leads me to my next point.

4) THEY CAN MAKE YOU FEEL AWESOME

No question about it, songs are amazing at making you feel stuff. I realize I mentioned this earlier, as yes, the emotions that soundtracks can produce can embed vivid memories in your brain. But the emotions they can make you feel can be awesome in themselves.

Going back to the example of walking into university, listening to something like Hopes and Dreams, a boss battle music theme, can imbue me with an incredible sense of confidence and excitement. The same feeling that you get when you are taking on a boss in a game.

Even sometimes before studying or during, putting an inspiring gaming soundtrack can skyrocket my motivation, and kickstart my motivation to work hard into high gear, something I can definitely appreciate when the going gets tough.

But this is just me, and I would love to hear from you. Are there any games with soundtracks that you think rock? And what makes them awesome for you? Let me know in the comments, and if you enjoyed this post, be sure to like it and follow me for more posts. Until then, stay beautiful 🙂

Sort:  

yeah soundtracks in games are awesome!

which soundtrack/song is your favorite? Lullaby for Mergo (BloodBorne) is probably my favorite

Researching the Zombie maps on Call of Duty to perform the easter eggs and hear the secret song play while blowing up zombies was worth it :)

Oh yeah definitely, Elena Siegman does a lot of the music for COD:Zombies and it just fits perfectly.

I actually have the soundtrack to Transistor in my phone and listen to it regularly.

That is awesome man! Yeah Indie games these days definitely have beautiful and unique soundtracks

You've been chosen and awarded by Steemit Gaming Support. Check out this post to know what it's all about :)

https://steemit.com/gamingsupport/@cheaky/steemit-gaming-support-june-15th-today-s-second-minnow-gamer-award

Awesome, Thanks Cheaky! I've seen your stuff quite a bit in the gaming sections its an absolute honor to be chosen! :D

Wow mate! Really nice written post! Keep coming up with stuff like this and you will do really good here!

Thanks man I really appreciate it :D

These are all great reasons.

An extra thing I read is that game music is really good for concentration. If you're doing work it helps you to focus on the task. I tried this with the Journey soundtrack and it really works :D

That's pretty dope, I might have to give that a try sometime, thanks for that mate! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51