Is there an age limit to gaming?

in #gaming7 years ago

I was six when I started playing games. Occasionally I would borrow my older brothers’ Game Boy to play Pokemon and later The Adventure of Zelda, and people didn’t seem to mind. I’m sure that at that age people were just glad they could leave me to do something on my own and they didn’t have to worry about me.

Needless to say, I’m not six anymore. As I have gotten older however, peoples’ perception of my gaming has also changed, and not for the better. It seems as though while playing video games as a child was all good, they didn’t expect me to keep playing games past getting into university. When my answer to the question “Do you still play games?” is yes, people walk away as if I just told them I’m a psychopath.

I feel like I should clarify. By people, I mean anyone in my family apart from my parents and brothers.

This is very frustrating for me, not only do I enjoy playing video games for fun, it’s so much more than that. For me it is a means of relaxation and relieving stress, a medium through which I can interact and spend time with friends, and I’m interested and passionate about it. So, the perception that perhaps I’m getting too old to play games, or that there is an age limit at all, is ludicrous to me.

3.07.2017.png

Perhaps it is just a traditional way of thinking that causes them to think that I should rethink my hobbies, and pick more adult pass-times such as reading books or watching movies. But I don’t see why I can’t enjoy those things, and still enjoy playing video games, without feeling like everyone still sees me as a child (give me a good book and I’ll happily read it over playing video games).

Also, how did gaming become seen as a childish pass-time? If anything, one of the reasons gaming is so great is because of the huge variety of games out there to pick from, meaning there is likely something for everyone, of any age. Besides, playing video games has been linked to many health benefits such as improved memory, reduced stress and depression, better decision making, and improved vision. And it makes me happy, isn’t that the main thing?

Well, that’s my little rant of the day, hopefully I’m not the only one that feels this way. I would love to know what you think though. Is there an age limit to gaming? Let me know in the comments, and if you enjoyed this post, give it a like. Until next time guys, as always, stay beautiful! 🙂

End note: Authored by Genesis & Locikll for Psilink Gaming & MediGamer Blogs, Redistributed, and edited for Steemit officially

Sort:  

Never too old for gaming! I'll be playing my whole life hands down!

Absolutely man! That's awesome to hear, gaming is such a perfect way to alleviate stress and to 'get away' and have a lot of fun for a while :D

NO im 40...still love my games

Haha right on man! This is exactly how I feel, I'll be playing games until I die :)

LULZ...I still play old school D&D somtimes bro....ha...4 real

Have not read yet straight to the answer.
Absolutely not my friend! game to your hearts content and share with us those great experiences.

After reading i had very similiar experinces in my life. growing up playing alot of video games and building computers, my grandpa would judge me. "you will never make money playing video games". Remember what life is about, if you enjoy playing video games then do so, always always live life to do what you enjoy. peace out my friend i am going to follow you i look forward to more Achievement information about these games!!

If there's no age limit for movies, books etc. then there shouldn't be one for games. It comes down to the individual game/move/book, not the genre as a whole.

I could not have put that better if I tried! You're exactly right, games are like all of those (except interactive) and therefore should never be seen as any different.

I personally think games are even better than film/books/other media (the sales numbers already prove that), but we've yet to unlock the full potential of game mechanics and storytelling.

Oh absolutely man, the immersion and interact-ability is infinitely greater.

As a father of two 10 year olds I can say they're definitely not sorry I'm still a gamer since they can play with me or get schooled playing vs me :D

Haha that's awesome man! :D

Congratulations @locikll! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Of course there is no limit to gaming! And I even remember reading that they were actually giving shooter games to elderly people, because it improved their hand-eye coordination :)

Great post ! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

Yeah video games can be massively advantageous for many features such as tracking, coordination and many others, a great video explaining them:

Thanks mate, yeah I wouldn't mind :D

I am sometimes thinking how retirement home will look like in the futher. All grandpas play video and flamming about noobs. XD

At least with alzheimer it will be worth to play each game a hundred of times

Hahah that's hilarious! It will definitely be a brave new world.

I love to picture myself with a controller in my hands when I'll be old. Gaming is a part of my life

Hahaha absolutely man! They'll have to pry that controller from my cold-dead hands :P

Nah, there's no age limit! People just got to do whatever they want with their free time. However, I do notice that I've started to talk less about gaming at parties or other social events as I get older, so it's more of a thing I do alone or with my close family instead of something I would talk about with all my friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63