You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Video Gaming] REVIEW: BATTLEFLEET GOTHIC ARMADA 2

in #gaming6 years ago

I don't mind pre-release reviews. I even enjoy doing them. Getting to see something, get my fingers dirty, work into the thing and specifically focus on the aspects that I think will make or break it for people's judgment… I like that.

Now, it just so happens, that a lot of my reviews seem to come out a little more cerebral than most of the gaming press, but I can live with that. Right now I am working out exactly how far I can go with, "no, that you should probably stay away from this" with my current publisher. I have the feeling that they would be generally okay with that sort of finding, as long as I backed it up – which is great.

The real problem for prerelease reviewing at this point in the market is that no one expects the game to be complete or bug free at release anymore. Everyone expects content to be unlocked, day zero patches, and maybe even fairly significant mechanics finally going into place on day of release. Which would be fine if that's what we got to review – but it never is.

If I had my preferences, I probably wouldn't review a game until it's been out for three months so that I could tell people whether it really is the solid game it was promised to be or something else, but in a real sense that's not what people want from reviews. They want to know whether they should buy it today – and today is day of release.

At this point, if you wait six months after release for a lot of AAA titles (and most indie titles), you can get them for 50% off the original asking price – and why wouldn't you? If the game is good, it will continue to be good. If the game is bad, it won't have gotten better in the meantime.

It's a very weird time to be part of the games industry.

Sort:  

Perhaps I should walk back a little: hate is a string word. I enjoy the process of reviewing regardless, but because of all the other concerns that you mention it is hard to know how what you review will match what players get.

I reviewed Shadowrun 5th Edition right at release, and it had some major errors (including the omission of PDF bookmarks) that were fixed by the time I woke up.

And that's in tabletop roleplaying, not even video games.

It definitely comes down to some industry differences as well. Most of my prerelease reviews focused on working with a publisher or media site, while I generally review released stuff independently (or, when I was still a featured reviewer, through DriveThruRPG with publisher comp copies). Syndication gives more touchy political issues and makes you think about how your writing reflects on the people paying you, which I don't personally like.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56