The 10 Best Easter Eggs In Video Games Of All Time

in #gaming7 years ago

Easter Eggs!

You absolutely have to love them Steemers! I'm a massive video game fan, being born in the late 80's I believe that I got to grow up playing some of the absolute best games of all time. Not just gameplay wise, but story wise, lore wise and art wise. It seems that developers and publishers in the 90's and 00's had more passion and love for the games they created than todays for the most part souless titles.


Let's talk about why we're here though, Easter Eggs. I freaking LOVE them! I love the hunt, the feeling of the find and also the laugh you get when it's something comically placed for the players to have a giggle at. In this Steemit blog I'm going to touch base on what I think are the 10 Best Easter Eggs of all time in Gaming History. If you have a feeling I didn't mention something that deserves a mention, feel free to let me know about it in the comment section, I love discovering new ones I can hunt down! I hope you enjoy the post, let's go!


#10 - NBA JAM


Believe it or not sports games even get in on the Easter egg action in their own hilarious way. In 'NBA Jam,' you can unlock certain political figures and celebrities by pressing the buttons on your controller in a specific order (what most of us know as cheat codes). The Left VS. The Right like you've never seen them before and trust me, it's worth it!


#9 - GTA V


There are a massive bunch of Easter eggs in 'Grand Theft Auto V' more than I could mention in even a single blog, the amount of time that went into the actual scripting of this game must be in the thousands of hours. Easter Egg wise, I have to give a nod to the Playboy mansion, UFOs, Peyote Trips, LCD Trips, Posters, Signs and AI Interaction but one of the coolest ones I've personally come across is every day at 7 p.m. in the game, a re-creation of the movie 'Thelma & Louise' happens at a cliff near Trevor's helipad and it's an absolute must see if you haven't seen it before!


#8 - Mirror's Edge


Alright Steemers, get this, in Chapter 8 in Mirror's Edge you have to shoot the sniper rifle at the engine of the truck as it comes around the corner just at the right time. Then you have to hit the white spot that's in the middle of the orange sign on the building behind it. drumroll Your Reward? It's a GIANT RAT - Cruising down the street at a fast pace tripping you the heck out! A great little find.


#7 - Halo 4


In the sixth mission of Halo 4, you'll notice two guards standing near a forklift just hanging around not looking too special at all but here is the catch, if you wait around long enough, sometimes 1 minute sometimes 5 minutes, they start talking and you'll see that those aren't just your two normal or average guards, you'll fast realize it's actually Conan O'Brien and Andy Richter and they have some hilarious banter that will surely give you a laugh if you wait it out, damn I love Conan O'Brien, he's hilarious.


#6 - Call Of Duty: Black Ops II


In C.O.D Black Ops II, you can play a whole slew of old-school Atari games and boy oh boy is it an awesome easter egg, these are the types of things Developers and Producers should be focusing on when making games in the day and age, the types of Easter Eggs that can be put into games is crazy when you think about it, technology has truly taken us forward. Anyway, back to the Easter Egg, It's in the Nuketown 2025 map all you have to do is Shoot the heads off all the mannequins in at least 90 seconds and you, too, can be playing 'Pitfall' among a heap of other awesome old school games. Bravo C.O.D this was a great one!


#5 - Assassins Creed III


Well well well. Assassins Creed Easter Eggs, first a chicken, now a turkey. This egg is called 'Turkey Assassin,' and for good reason at that! In Assassin's Creed III hide behind a corner of your home at your home and whistle then wait a moment. When the turkey shows up, enter the Konami Code, and the turkey dawns an assassin's hood. Something to give you an awesome little giggle. I love the Assassins Creed franchise and am always trying to find new Easter Eggs when playing these titles. I can't wait to find my next one!


#4 - Battlefield: Hardline

zgif halflife.gif
3 Crowbars, Left Under a Steam Valve. Need I say more? Half Life 3 Confirmed.


#3 - Mad Max


Hey, while I'm on the note of Half Life 3, let's take a look at the Easter Egg Mad Max left us. A Hand, Clutching a crowbar, I'm sorry but HALF-LIFE 3 CONFIRMED!


#2 - Just Cause 3

z its always sunny.gif
Did someone say Dayman? Seriously though, this It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia Easter Egg is one of my favorite of all time. I love that TV show and have seen it many time, I burst out in laughter when I saw Charlie in his Green man suit, most probably on Acid tripping balls. Dude this one caught me off guard!


#1 - Doom 2


Doom 2 – Shoot John Romero in the face. What kind of Developer throws himself into a video game as a final boss in a very hard to find secret level? John Romero, that's who. The Doom Franchise is quite possibly the reason we have such a deep genre when it comes to FPS games. It's a franchise that inspired a Generation of Developers and producers, inspiring games such as Counter Strike, Half Life, Prey, Halo, Far Cry and many many more. This one is my favorite for many reasons.


Thank you for Reading! I Hope you Enjoyed my Content!


Like I said in my Intro, Easter Eggs are a massive part of why I play video games, I'm an achievement hunter and secret finder. I love finding things I know most people would have missed.

Be sure to let me know what you thought about my list in the comments, and don't forget, upvote, follow and resteem if you thought it was Quality!


I also want to take a quick moment to make a

Shoutout

to some of the most important yet unmentioned people on this platform that have supported me in the past;
The Curators!
Throughout my time using the platform I've noticed there are people driving the quality content we see in the trending and hot pages. These people are part of the reason that Steemit is a remarkable platform. Not everyone likes to curate or even use steemit for it's true purposes, these people do.
So if you don't mind, drop over to the page of these un-sung heros and give them a follow for supporting our platform!
They are these people;
@starkerz @klye @kpine @theprophet0 @ghasemkiani @hr1 @bobbylee @speda @xaero1 @asksisk


zSwimmin with whalesss.jpg

zUpvote follow resteem gif.gif

Sort:  

Great Post, Easter Eggs are neat to learn about and even cooler when discovered! My favorite was when I discovered that I could use alternate vehicles in the Cruisin' racing series by pressing the change view buttons, I like using the hippy bus.

I never knew about #6 in your list. Old school Atari is a personal favorite of mine so I will be trying this one out for sure on my WiiU copy of Black Ops 2.

Thanks for posting, Upvoted!

Thank you!

Look at my account you will like it, I have game drawings, give me your opinion https://steemit.com/money/@orlanperzy/dota2-who-is-this-character-or-or-quien-es-este-personaje

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60270.61
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43