Top 5 Multiplayer PC Games That Will Run On (Almost) Any Computer in 2017

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Lacking the specs to run the latest titles, but still want a solid multiplayer gaming experience? Sick of looking at IGN threads from 2007 for game recommendations? Then this list is for you!

For the past few years I've been doing everything on a HP laptop with a 1GB AMD 8670M GPU, which I can tell you is no beast; far from it, the card [sports a measly G3D rating of 513], and the CPU isn't exactly Speedy Gonzalez either (quad-core AMD 1.8ghz).
So believe me when I say I feel the pain of the laptop/budget gamer - I am one (both, in fact!). That said, my lack of graphical heft has never stopped me from enjoying solid triple-A gaming experiences on my humble machine. Also, I got your back homies, I understand that cost is going to affect how much you can spend on games, so I've tried to keep the prices as low as possible relative to the quality of experience. So here you go; my top picks for the XX best multiplayer games I can almost guarantee will run well on your computer.
Like this list? Be sure to follow for more sick content recommendations, thought pieces and general tomfoolery

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

First on the list and probably my favorite, CSGO is the latest iteration of the epic Counter-Strike game series. Picking up where its predecessor left off was always going to be a strenuous task, but CSGO introduced many improvements on the multiplayer front with the introduction of matchmaking, ranks and leaderboards. You can get it on Steam for $14.99 US or you can always save a few bucks by shopping on G2A.
Protip: turn all the graphics settings to minimum except resolution (use native). Honestly, the video quality isn't all that much worse and you'll still be seeing the same details as all the other players.

Rocket League

Surprisingly, it doesn't take a monster rig to run the epic multiplayer driving-football hybrid that is Rocket League; far from it, even the most mediocre of PC's can run this game very well indeed. This is partly because the game allows you to turn off many of its shaders and effects individually in the options, and partly because there isn't a huge amount going on on the screen at once, however some of the larger stadiums might cause fps drops (but they tend to go away after a minute or so).
Can be purchased for $19.99 on Steam or only $12.59 on G2A

Golf With Your Friends

You haven't lived until you've tried Golf With Your Friends - a truly unique multiplayer mini-golf romp; this game is oodles of fun. With over 9 courses and a host of gameplay twists like bouncy balls, low gravity, private/public lobbies, this game is more than worth the paltry $5.99 price tag on Steam

Age of Empires 2 HD

An oldie but a goldie; Age of Empires II HD breathes new life into the beloved classic with overhauls to graphics, multiplayer, AI and a host of other improvements. The excellent campaign alone makes this game worth the buy, and I often find myself playing through the single-players missions on my laptop while travelling. This game is one of the least graphically-intensive out there that still retains a sizeable player base, and can be gotten for $19.99 on Steam.

Distance

What do you get when you cross Wipeout, Need for Speed and Trackmania? Distance is a track-based multiplayer driving game where the players try to score fast times on maps that go to infuriating lengths to stop that from happening. The game is only a few years old but is one of the best-optimized titles I've ever come across, and runs at a stellar 60fps most of the time even with many of the graphical enhancements active. $19.99 on Steam

That's it for this post, if you enjoyed it be an absolute legend and leave an upvote, follow me, or tell me what you thought in the comments. I'm currently attending grad school to become a software engineer, so money is tight and your help means a lot to me, and in return I promise to keep producing killer content on Steemit!

Sort:  

You excited for the new age of empires? This will be the first release from them when I actually have money xD
You keep gaming, I'll keep upvoting

Dude I am beyond hyped for AoE4. Apparently last year some user on reddit asked Bill Gates about the possibility of a new AoE game during an AMA, the question was highly upvoted and Bill himself ended up replying with "I'll look into it". A year later and Microsoft announces the sequel. Coincidence?..I think not!

To be honest Dota totally slipped my mind. Not a fan of MOBA-style games myself, but I'll definitely update the list with your suggestion. Cheers

Nice to have helped. Btw will I see a f2p recommendation list from you, ideally compatible with linux. It would be great. Cheers.

Really good post. Even i have YouTube gaming channel & new video daily upload.You just have a look. if possible plz do subscribe my channel-
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdLTzGuwJd2hY5mLEh1tk5A
Follow me @maruf121

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51