Summer Games Done Quick 2017 & Speedrunning

in #gaming7 years ago

Summer Games Done Quick 2017 & Speedrunning

Screen-Shot-2017-01-08-at-8.12.44-PM.png
Photo Source

Speedrunning

As many of you know I am a pretty hardcore gamer. I really enjoy most platforms but my heart lies with the retro gaming systems specifically the Super Nintendo console.
What I really enjoy is something called video game "speedrunning" & yes its one word :) Speedrunning is just as it sounds. It is beating a video game as fast as possible. Typically to do this well it takes practice & if you want to be in the top 5% registered game times you will have to put forth some serious effort.
View World Record Speedrun Videos & Times Here

I currently speedrun a few games regularly

Super Mario World

Click Here For Video
.
My Current Personal Bests
11 exits: 11mins 11sec
All Castles: 40mins 20sec
96 Exits(complete game): 1hr 46mins 01sec
.

Super Mario 64

Click Here For Video
.
16 Stars: 20mins 37sec
70 Stars: 1hr 13mins 35sec
.

The Lion King (SNES)

Click Here For Video
Any% Easy: 15:45
(currently 8th place)

Check out my Speerun.com profile here
Speedrun.com

Games Done Quick

An Event for Charity


Click here for for more info on this event
Currently there is an event going on in Minneapolis Minnesota by the name of Summer Games Done Quick. I will be attending this event throughout the week. This is an annual event that has taken place in Minnesota the last 3 years & prior to that took place in Denver Colorado.
Another event by the name of Awesome Games Done Quick takes place around the turn of the year & takes place in Washington.
This event is to raise charity for Doctors Without Borders

To learn more about Doctors Without Borders, visit http://www.msf.org.
Games Done Quick is a speedrunning event that speerunners from around the world attend and speedrun games live for a live audience while also being broadcast to over 100k viewers on Twitch.tv to help raise money for charity
Click her for the live stream
This is a week long event & there are over
100 individual speedruns of over 100 different video games spanning across all platforms. This is a great way to find new games to speedrun or just watch others do live speedruns.
Click here to view the schedule

Speedruns I am looking forward to in sequential order:


Super Adventure Island 2
E.V.O.: Search for Eden
The Lion King
Crash Bandicoot
Spyro: Year of the Dragon
Ape Escape
Super Monkey Ball Deluxe
Mirror's Edge
Mirror's Edge Catalyst
Banjo-Kazooie
Doom (2016)
Alex Kidd in Shinobi World
Super Meat Boy
Kirby's Dream Land 2
Kirby: Planet Robobot
Mega Man X6
Mega Man X2
Mega Man X3
The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
Ys Origin
Tiny Toon Adventures: Buster Busts Loose!
Ratchet & Clank
Chrono Trigger
Mario Kart 64
Tetris: The Grand Master: 8-way 100% race
Tetris: The Grand Master: 2-players 1-controller race
Tetris: The Grand Master 3
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
Zelda 2: The Adventure of Link
The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening DX
Mega Man 4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III
X-Men: Mutant Apocalypse
Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix
Super Mario Series Warpless Relay Race
Super Metroid
Final Fantasy VII
Super Panga World
Super Mario 64 120 Stars
The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask
Earthbound

I will be watching the event all week long. feel free to comment about the live event on this post or message me on steemit.chat @kiddarko

Thanks for viewing my Blog
I would really appreciate your follow

FOLLOW ME

steemit
YouTube
Instagram
Gaming Twitter
Modeling Twitter 18+
Twitch.tv Livestream
Join Us On Steemspeak.com
steemit.chat Username: KidDarko


Also Consider Following
@denvermax

Sort:  

I'm curious now how long it would take you to beat one of our games.
Not technically speedrunning though due to randomization...but still.
I dig that you're into this darko!

There is randomizer races that are technically speedruns. How could I try one of your games?

I'll get you a key... They're on Steam.
Galagan's Island is the one I want to put you on.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/378850/Galagans_Island_Reprymian_Rising/

Cool. Maybe if I live stream it in twitch you could come watch for live feedback?

Sounds good.
Keys are on my son's computer, I'll get a couple for you if you want to give any away to your viewers

Yeah that sounds great. Looks like a shoort which I am totally into :D

It's pretty hard... Just a heads up.
I know very few that have beat it...very few

I bet I'll still have a "blast" ;)

So super duper rad!

Right! this will be my 3rd year attending

That's very cool - speedrunning is always fun to watch :D

It's really fun live especially when people world record

I wish you the best of luck on your future speed runs :D

Here is one without text

DQmPi1CuHezZA7E2kTNJy8fZfoXUutv2MhxQ6gW1GTWtV6p_1680x8400.png

Here is it with text

DQmYtAzQPtjmveoA6euctU6w9QtPezwvWckPApkjEkosnjc_1680x8400.png

I think you may have accidently posted this to my post. It has nothing to do with my post at all and looks like a whaleshares pixel entry.

All I was thinking is he should enter my contest #pixelartweekly
To funny.

I totally agree!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87