The only annual video game awards show worth watching!

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Being a video game enthusiast, I make it a point to keep myself up to date at least once or twice a year despite the great lack of time to play everything like I used to be able to. Nowadays I just go for select games after checking out some of my favourite game curators. TotalBiscuit, The Cynical Brit is one of them. I appreciate his sharp, critical commentaries on gaming.

He has an annual video game awards show aptly named TotalBiscuit's Arbitrary Video Game Awards, in which he prefers to provide lengthy reasoning instead of just giving out awards that don't mean anything by themselves.

I'm still very much into video games mainly to keep in touch with audiovisual advancements, industry critiques, and also the various artforms found in the medium. So I think Totalbiscuit's arbitrary award categories are actually super useful for the purpose, and this year, he has done it again with the following list.

  • Best Soundtrack
  • Most Striking Aesthetic
  • The Best thing to Come out of Early Access
  • The Stop Pre-Ordering Video Games Award for Biggest Launch Disaster
  • The Game that Most Surpassed my Expectations
  • The Never too Late Award for Most Improved Title of the Year
  • The Anti-Consumer Award for Gaming's Biggest Little Problems
  • The Innovation in Multiplayer Gaming Award

I highly recommend this annual awards show, if you haven't heard of TotalBiscuit, subscribe to his channel! Here's the 3-hour plus video. I'm still halfway through it, following up as usual during the first week of a new year. Enjoy the show!


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

I will give it a watch:)

Perhaps the most long-winded youtuber ever :p lol but useful commentary imo

Great post!

Thanks @michaelstobiersk - check out the vid :)

You're welcome. I watched part of the vid, but ran out of time. I'll go back to it though.

I'm also a video game enthusiast so I'll check this out too. Great post.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow! Impressive video! I was especially interested in the aesthetic awards. Couldn't hear much of the music in the music section, but that's understandable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62579.62
ETH 3455.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53