Holographic Lemmings!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Remember that old MS-DOS game where zombie-like sprites on screen just walk in straight lines forever, falling into pits all the time? The team over in Globacore has made a next-gen Lemmings full on with holographic models and augmented-reality levels! They're calling it HoloLems for Microsoft's HoloLens. Kinda cute and creepy at the same time..


For more info with download link for HoloLens: http://www.vr.globacore.com/#/hololems/

Sort:  

This is truly fascinating. I'm not sure why this would be creepy, as you mentioned in your post!? This will become even more real over time when computing power is increasing. I truly beleive we will be able to create artificial/virtual worlds that will look and feel the same as what we call 'real' world. The creepiness may start then, since we can live virtual lives like shown in eg movies such as "Matrix". But then again, what is the 'real' world? When indeed the Holographic Universe model of David Bohm is true, 'real' gets a whole different meaning.

Hahah it just looks creepy because of the uncanny valley, stuff walking round my living room..

Give it another 10 years or so, I think all the holographic projection devices will be small and powerful enough to embed anywhere it'd even render the hololens obsolete. But maybe it wouldn't be obsolete as it's a thing u can carry around and have AR utility anywhere..

hahahaha, but how cool a bridge is unfolding from your couch just at the moment it should to it for the avatars not to fall into the deep abyss called "your floor" :)

This type of devices will be implemented in our heads, directly connected to eye, or even behind the eye. I'm pretty sure of that. Will that take 10 years or 20 years, that is still the question, but we will transform ourself more and more into Robocop, that is for sure! Elon Musk just started a new company looking at exactly that, to interconnect computers with our brains. Not only he is investing in it, a lot of research is now in that space.

yes remember lemmings.

I still play that today on the phone..

What is this World\Virtual coming to?

3D literally in your living room!

Lol

3D IRL is just not enough it seems! More 3D pls..

How about more ReSteem...

;)

Thanks for the resteem dude / dudette :)

AR applied to visiting museums could be running already, I guess

Yup the advances in AR is quite awesome!

YES. That looks amazing!

I can imagine effective AR giving you a lot of creative ideas...

Absolutely. I've been teaching myself AR software (vuforia and unity3D)... hold on to your butts!

Wow good luck. I tried learning unity3D.. just not my thing!

I so totally remember this Lemmings game, I was talking about it yesterday!?! What great timing to come across this posting, thanks for sharing. Namaste :)

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

wow thats so crazy but would love to see more dos games.

This right here is the future of gaming (amongst other things) :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62