Age of Empires // THE BEST GAME OF THE 90s IS BACK?

in #gaming6 years ago

Wololo!

Do you remember that sound? Is it playing in your head as you read the first line? No? Then you probably don't know the game I am talking about. Sounds familiar? Then we're on the same page. Phew!

For those who don't know, "Wololo" is the sound made by a Priest in the game Age of Empires (1997) when it was trying to compel the enemy team member into your army. The sound itself was compelling enough, because me and my friend had a laugh over it even before it came a meme.

df6.jpg

DEAD GAME? THINK AGAIN!


I was thinking about doing a post about "How I got into gaming" or "What were the first games that I played" and I was googling a picture of AoE 1 for the post. It was right then when I stumbled upon AoE website. I felt like I have been living under a rock, because I thought this game was pretty dead. Well, it isn't!

It is very much alive and trying to make a comeback! Wohoo!

I have been looking into strategy games for a long time to find something similar to AoE, but nothing has caught my eye enough. Age of Empires is ageless. I am missing something like this game was.

DEFINITIVE EDITION


I know there is an Age of Empires II HD version on Steam. I have played it, but I really didn't feel the big difference from the original game. It was re-imagined, but it still had the "old look." I was more than happy to learn that there will be a Definitive Edition and it is coming out on February 20th, 2018. It's like REALLY SOON!

"We can’t wait to start playing AoE:DE with all of you, and February can’t come soon enough!" - AoE website.

It will have new-graphics, remastered sound and music, a smooth and new-looking, rebuilt UI. It will be as good as the game was back in its days, but look as good as games are supposed to in 2018. Check it out for yourself:

aoedef.jpg

AGE OF EMPIRES IV


That's not all! Age of Empires 3 came out in 2005, but I think this version didn't find much recognition, since the first two episodes were a lot better and more loved. We could say that the third edition ruined the series and it didn't feel like being a part of the AoE previous episodes. Only the second episode is still living thanks to true AoE fans and there have been many HD versions of it which are all available on Steam.

Now, after 13 years, it is coming back with Age of Empires IV. The release date is yet to be announced and there are no official screenshots of the upcoming game released yet. I can only show you the announcement trailer. Let's just hope they don't ruin the game again and we will also see Age of Empires 5 in the future. I am

Have you ever played a game of AoE series? Will you?

kassixoss2.png

Sort:  

Wololo! - I hated that sound! I have heard that Microsoft tried to launch a AoE last year, I am not sure it was for real or not :D

I think you heard about the same thing since the announcement for AoE 4 came out last year and it will still be published by Microsoft. Fans are just hoping that Microsoft doesn't screw the game again. :D

You seem to be very up to date with games. How is this possible, I mean how do you have enough time?

Wow, hold your horse! Since I found out about this announcement just today (and this came out like half a year ago) we can be sure that I am not so "up-to-date" with games. :D Maybe some, but not all. :D I read gaming news from time to time, but not even every month, so it really depends if I get on track with something or not.

I don't have time to read about everything in gaming scene, but I try to keep up with the games that I have liked previously or similar ones.^^

I'm so hyped for the remake of the first Aoe :))

I don't know how long i played it, but it was an absolute great game

Same. It was one of the first game I played and I believe it still has so much potential to be a good game.

OMG @kassixo you need to play aoe2 with me, @ladyrednails and @demonllama . Lets have a 2v2 these days. Do you have aoe2 hd version on steam?

I believe I do have AoE II HD on steam, but I'm not quite sure. I have a better idea. Lets wait for the definite version and play that one.

OMG, may the good old AoE online-lan-games come back. :P

Nvm, I just checked and I don't have the HD version on Steam and since the definitive will also cost 19.99 I will wait for that one anyway. :P

ok then we will all get that version and play :D

Cool!
Best game, you can spend hours or even days thinking out strategies to elliminate your opponents.
Pretty sure to get that game when it is out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71