Why Steemit?

in #gaming7 years ago

@guyfawkes4-20 commented this to me about my games: "That's crazy!! Sell all of them and buy STEEM and then power it all up. You'll thank me later :D"

I truly do appreciate this comment because my reply turned out to be a lot more than "no". It also made me consider his implications. My reply is as follows:

Let's see.
Sell all of them? No. Never will happen.
Buy STEEM? Thought about it, but there more important things to me. I'm not here for the money, well, I thought about it when I joined, but those thoughts changed quickly.
Power it all up? Again. I'm not here for the money. I'm not looking to become an overnight whale or whatever.
I'll thank you later? Maybe, but I thank-you now for for your comment and upvote.

Within my first half an hour on Steemit while I was poring through @pressfortruth content, I realised I'm not here to make money. That would be a bonus, but here merely to upvote a few posts was my reason. I really enjoy the work Dan Dicks does with @pressfortruth.
I then wondered if I should do more for a change. My internet footprint is as minor as you can get without canceling your internet connection.
Facebook strictly for managing my weekly game nights.
Email strictly for communication; because so many are opposed to phone calls and snail mail.
Lastly, I use Kodi for a few movies; but that's like 2 movies a month or something, if any.

Now Steemit, which I decided to start a "blog" (is apparently what it's called), is my attempt to integrate more into this intangible community of people. Everything about my life is face-face, physical interactions with people and the real world. This internet "community" thing is still beyond my grasp of understanding because the basis of the internet is impersonal connections. We can throw pictures of ourselves up and type words back and forth, but that lacks all tangible connection; Even a displaced voice over the phone is more tangible than this.

When I post something, I check the "new" feed for anything interesting to me. I upvote, comment, and whatever else is "expected" of an interactive internet chat, post, blog service?
I post about board games. I know that's a small niche of clientèle, but it's my fifth biggest passion in life.
First being my Christian faith, second being my family, my job, this woman I like (whom hopefully can be placed in family one day), board games, and mountain biking.

So why board games?

  1. There are lot of faith posts that I can interact with and maybe, one day, I'll post about why I am a Christian, but distrust the religion called Christianity; which ties in to why I trust people of faith, but not the religion they follow.

2&3. My family and job are secret to the internet.

  1. I have no insecurities to talk about my love life. My relationships transition smoothly; one day, I hope, she and I will be married and people will not even realise that we "dated" (because we didn't), or they will not realise we were "engaged" (because our relationship surpasses societal stereotypes). Just the same if the relationship does not progress as I hope it does, then no one would be the wiser anyway. No big deal.

  2. Board games are an active passion, hobby, and interest of mine.

  3. Mountain biking is boring to talk about and I don't do videos.

So I settled on board games. And random stuff that gets to me like my posts about Canada Day, and yesterday's about Debian/Firefox/LastPass.

Maybe one day, if, IF I have fiat currency to waste, I'll figure out this Bitcoin thing and invest in Steem, but it's neither a priority or a desire currently.
So yeah. Thank-you @guyfawkes4-20 for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53