Let's Review: Monster Hunter: World

in #gaming6 years ago

First 10 Hours

Monster Hunter: World is the newest addition to the Monster Hunter saga. It's available for PS4, Xbox and soon will be out from PC.

I've put about 12 hours into the game so far and I have to say, I love it. I played the Beta back at the start of January and was in awe at how much fun the game was and the full release only builds on that. It even includes an open world mode called "Expedition Mode" (Which was one of my biggest requests for the main game to have, so that's a bonus from me!)

The game premise is simple, you show up on a whole new Island of sort to hunt monsters. When I say monsters, I mean big. Ass. Monsters. Some of these things are freaking huge! You have weird lizards, furry T-Rex's, Dragons, giant Sharks, and so much more. The variety of Monsters in the game is honestly incredible. They all look and act so unique too! The hunting aspect is great too. Tracking down a monster to engage in a lengthy sometimes challenging boss fight against the creatures is just so much fun.

The game also has a story mode that is all around quite fun. It also offers various weapons, weapon types, armour and customization for the game. You start off making your own characters, yourself, mine being this:

And then you also make a little Palico friend that you take around with you. They're basically small cats that have their own leveling system, various armours and weapons it can use and a customisable appearance.

The game also looks stunning. It's running on the same engine that made the original Dead Rising which looks... well-

Aged in comparison.

Gameplay wise, it feels very fluid. Every weapon offers a completely different play style, whether it be big heavy axes, twin blades, bows, swords and shields or giant gun bows; there's a play style for everyone in this game.

Plus, no micro-transactions or loot boxes, which is always a rare blessing.

I feel like I've barely even scratched the surface of this game, honestly. There's so much I could talk about, all the different divisions you can invest into, the countless side quests, the events, the multiplayer. There's so much that I can't wait to explore and get invested into.

As a new member to this long running franchise, I don't feel at all lost or confused on the gameplay. So, if you've never played a Monster Hunter game like I haven't, now is the perfect time to give this series a shot.

So far, Monster Hunter: World is shaping up to be a 9/10. Perhaps even a potential Game of the Year.

Seriously, I can not stress this enough. This game is amazing. Please, go check it out and do yourself a favour, you WILL have a blast playing this incredible game.

Sort:  

Loving this game! Especially on PS4 Pro :)

Absolutely! Game is so fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94