My reaction to the #boycottgenshin tag!

in #gaming3 years ago

Checked my Twitter feed hours ago as per my usual daily routine and was quite surprised to see Genshin Impact trending, although this time not in a good way (#boycottgenshin & #DoBetterMihoyo).

At first I thought that like me, a lot of players are 'bitter' after not getting the 5-star character VENTI which at the time before this tags trended, VENTI's banner was ending. But it seems there is another reason.


Screenshot_20210406-171239_Twitter.jpg

Long story short and the gist of why it is/was trending is because of the following issues:


20210406_171417.jpg
Source: @kaexiaobf on Twitter

Now I am not defending the game but on the first issue, while I do see why some people think the inspiration comes from indigenous people with their masks, bone belts, and their dance rituals but I think it's farfetched to say it is demonizing these indigenous people and go so far as disrespecting their culture since these kind of designs are not only limited to this game but also to almost other popular games out there that take an ORC as their reference.


Screenshot1.jpg

I'm also not sure why people are still playing the racism card here when in fact the game already have 2 characters with color. And for a Chinese game I think that alone is already quite surprising.

As for their personalities, I actually beg to differ as Kaeya is Mondstandt's Chivalry Captain. Sure he comes of as sly but I don't know about the villainous part. As for Xinyan, she doesn't even have a proper background story at the moment. How did these people already labeled her as villainous. XD


Screenshot_20210406-174027_Genshin Impact.jpg
Screenshot_20210406-174039_Genshin Impact.jpg

I did have some minor issue on the 2nd one (pedophilia) since I believe a big percentage of players of the game are minors. But if I remember correctly, the NPC on that said storyline did not 'strongly' act on his feelings nor did his dialogues suggest any possible sexual advances to Flora. I for one interpreted it as someone who just finds the girl adorable and maybe it's his first time so he calls the said feeling 'love'. So I for one honestly don't find that storyline much of an issue.

I completely agree on the security issues though as at one point, players mobile numbers were visibly seen to almost everyone. Lol

As for the last one, not defending Mihoyo again but I do understand their move of milking players with money money money. I mean at the end of the day this is still a business for them and a very popular one at the moment. And business~strategy~wise, now is the time for them to take advantage on that.

They are clearly milking players for $$$ but the updates are actually not that far apart. Like only 2-3 months apart.


20210406_171258.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27