Epic Games Fortnite Review!

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello Steemit gaming community!

I've decided to do a review on the new game by Epic, called FortNite. As a big PlayerUnknown's BattleGrounds(PUBG) player I was super curious about this game.

What is FortNite?
Fortnte is a PvP (player vs. player) battle royale game. Basically you get dropped on to a large map by yourself, or in a squad and the objective is to be the last person or squad standing.

How do I get the game?
The game is actually free right now and it is downloadable from the Fortnite website. Once you go to the website and create an account you will be prompted to download the Epic games launcher.

1.png

2.png

Is this game the same as PUBG?
I would say it is and it isn't. Since there is so much controversy these past few days. I figure I'd name out some of the similarities. Obviously the objective is the same in both games, you want to be the last player or squad alive to win the game, but here are some of the other similarities.

  1. Instead of flying over the map initially on a plane, it's a bus.
    3.png

  2. Instead of a parachute, it's a glider.
    4.png

  3. There is a circle that get's smaller and smaller as time goes on.
    5.png

  4. Instead of air drops, there are chests that you will find. Normally they are behind a wooden wall of some sort and you have to break it down with your axe to loot it.
    6.png

  5. When you're playing in a squad you don't die right away, you get downed. If you are downed a teammate can revive you.

There are some other similarities but these are what stood out to me, and for the record, if any developer creates any "battle royale" game you're gonna have these similarities no matter what.

What makes this game different than PUBG?
Well here's where it get's interesting. There are a lot of differences and I'll name the ones that stood out to me below.

  1. There are no vehicles that you can drive in this game. I spent my first game trying to get into every vehicle that I saw. You have to run for the whole game but in all the games that I've played it hasn't been an issue. I think the size of the map is a lot smaller than the PUBG map.
    7.png

  2. The majority of the guns are the same in a sense that there are pistols, shotguns, automatic rifles, sniper rifles but in Fortnite there is a grenade launcher. With the grenade launcher you can shoot down structures quite easily, if someone is camping in a wooden house you can shoot down the wall.

  3. You can "mine" resources to build walls and structures. A squad mate and I gathered a bunch of wood and we decided to build a ramp in to the sky.
    8.png
    9.png

  4. The inventory system is completely different, you have 5 slots in your inventory (1 is taken by your axe) and that's it. Also the inventory slot layouts takes some getting used to. You have inventory items from 1-4 but then you also have Z and X. My assumption is that 1-4 are for weapons and Z and X are for boosts or heals.
    10.png

  5. There are no lootable attachments for guns. Some guns come with an attachment like the sniper rifle has a scope.

  6. Majority of the time you are hip aiming, and not down sight. The sniper rifle is the only gun that I've used so far that has a scope. There is also no way to go into first person mode.
    11.png

  7. You can lay down traps. I actually got killed by a trap in my very first game. Well done to the person that laid it down.

One of the biggest differences for me that had nothing to do with game play itself was this game is A LOT smoother than PUBG. My FPS was about the same in both games, anywhere from 80-140, but Fortnite felt substantially smoother.

I don't really have a rating system as I don't normally review games but would if someone asked me if Fortnite is worth downloading, I would say yes. The Overwatch cartoon animations grouped with a battle royale game style is pretty fun. The fact that you can build things adds a whole dynamic to the game that I haven't seen in a battle royale game before.

Hope you enjoyed the review. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Great review! Ive also been enjoying this game. Its nice to see someone actually putting a spin on the whole "hunger games" mechanic. Im looking forward to someone making a futuristic version, and this is the closest thing we have so far. PS the sniper rifle is so good, I love it.

It's pretty fun so far and it's a nice change from PUBG every so often. The building is pretty hilarious to see for the first time.

You have skill about writing some review.

Thank you! I don't normally review anything lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80