⏬DIGITAL-DOWNLOAD vs PHYSICAL-DISC???💿

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

So the battle has been raging for a while now.

poster1501844232471.jpg
Gone are the days that you could just go to the store and buy a game, never to spend another dime on extra stuff for that same game you have already paid for. Things are much different these days.

Many people I know will only buy a game on disc. They value the resell potential, aswell as the collectable side of it, I mean who doesn't want piles of games to decorate their man-cave/girl-cave? I can imagine alot of people have a wall dedicated to stacked games, ordered perfectly, with 10% of them possibly still in the cellophane wrapper... 781368-9685_1.jpg
You can't showcase your 'digital' library.
It also just 'feels' like you own something, and humans like to touch things to verify it's existence, (partly why crypto is a wild west of what feels like monopoly money being thrown about), people like to see and touch what they own, and ultimately value it more.
886a796f811b61b0c7b043a318998c5d--jordan-knight-mine-mine.jpg

On the other hand, i know many people who buy only digital games! The most common testimony is 'But discs scratch!" which is true, which is why you gotta be careful with 'em!
43674595.jpg
Many say the disc cases take up too much 'actual' space, which is also true.
I can imagine the no.1 reason why digital content has taken off so massively, is due to the convienence of it all. You dont have to get off your ass and go to the store, you can pre-order and download ready for release, every game (depending on your storage) will be ready to play in one click without having to change disc etc, you can delete them to create hdd space and re-download years later to play again.
The initial benefits seem to outweigh the cons.
download (1).jpg

But what lies in the back of my mind, is the fact that these games are being downloaded, updated and sometimes verified on launch by Sony/Microsoft/Nintendo on the network. This applies to even physical discs of the newer gens aswell. Some games won't let you do ANYTHING without an internet connection.

So it brings me to my next point. 50 years from now, will they even still work? Will the servers for alot of these game be up and running still? I doubt it. To be honest, I'd probably have much better chance of success by turning on multiplayer Mario Kart 64 on my N64 than I would on my PS4 playing Rocket League Online.


Prior to and including the PS2/XBox/Gamecube generation, games were final. What was burned to the disc/cartridge was what you got. Nothing taken away, nothing added. After that generation, when the PS3/Xbox 360/Wii were released, things changed. Built in wireless receivers gave these consoles easy access to the internet. Rather than running straight from the physical media, data would be downloadable, could be installed and updated - in other words - changed. The consoles introduced internal/external storage meaning no more memory cards.
131770.jpg
Ease of use for consumers and an innovation in technology for gaming.
Sounds great? Online gaming then became big, creating a demand for competition. That competition between users along with the developers potential to make money, ultimatley led to DLC . Not only can you now download the game. You can now download 'extra' bits of the game. Be it upgrades, new levels/maps, cosmetic improvements, etc etc, it just all doesnt feel the same. I feel less inclined to play a game if it has alot of 'pay to win' features, and feel like it destroys that rewarding "YES" feeling you get only by grinding into the late hours just to level up enough to finally beat that boss that you've previously been slaughtered by too many times too count. Ahhh #nostalgia

What do you guys prefer, DigitalD or PhysicalD? What's your stance on DLC?

If you got this far, upvote!

Help me 'Level Up' 🙃

Sort:  

I used to be a disc only guy for all the reasons you mentioned but my playstation started acting up and ejecting discs at random. Quite frustrating to say the least. The problem is fixed now, but it still does it from time to time. So I stick with digital these days just for convenience. I do agree with you that we'll most likely not be able to play most of these games in some years time due to lack of servers running them. booo :(

Gaming sure has changed. I miss the days of co-op campaign and solid offline games. So it goes I guess.

Very nicely written. I for one prefer physical discs because I can pass on to others and I like having a collection. I wouldnt mind the digital downloads also but my internet is horrible so it's a no go for me. I don't like how they are getting everything 'online' and offline gaming/campaigns/local co op is dying.

Agreed, local co-op is the epitome of gaming with friends!

I think you did a great job of presenting the pros and cons of both. I mostly game on PC, so almost all of the games I have are downloaded. Sometimes I wish I had a hard copy because if I really like a game, I might want to share it with a friend. I remember I was able to do that with a friend with the original Star Wars Battlefront game from 2004. Ultimately, the convenience of being able to download games is what makes them preferable for me. Especially when you can pick up games on sale for a fraction of what it would cost to go to the store or order the physical disc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56