My PS4 Experience - From Gaming Powerhouse To Glorified Media Center

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

Like most people have done in the past, I purchased my Playstation 4 on the day of release. As a Bitcoin enthusiast, I put half a BTC on my debit card to buy it in the store. As soon as I got home with it, the unpacking began. Unfortunately, patches needed to be downloaded and the network was congested.

Once i had managed to set everything up the way i wanted to, i couldn't have been happier with my purchase. Gaming was, and still is, and utter pleasure. The PS4 controller works flawlessly and is easy to hold, even during extended periods of time.

For some unknown reason, gaming on my PS4 has taken a backseat ever since. Granted, the console offers a fair share of media capabilities. As a sports enthusiast, i use it to watch both the NHL and MLB. Plex is a great tool as well, even though i prefer to use Kodi on my Raspberry Pi 3 for streaming my own content.

Don't get me wrong, I still game on my PS4 now and then. Oddly enough, i play Rocket League more often than anything else. It is one hell of an addictive game, that much is certain. But more often than not, I use it just for Netflix and watching sports. In fact, if Netflix worked properly on the Pi, I would have no real use for my PS4 at this time.

There are many games i would like to play on the PS4 some day, but I just can't find myself doing so anytime soon. Moreover, ìt would be virtually impossible to justify the cost of most game titles. Even at a discount, the price/numbers of hours played ratio would not be favorable.

So for now, I continue to use my PS4 to watch Netflix and sports. Once my Android tv box arrives, the console may become obsolete. But i doubt I would sell it, although I can't say why I feel that way.

What would you do if you were in my shoes? Sell the console or keep it around? And how do you use your console(s) these days?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56