World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Review

in #gaming7 years ago

Today I'm going to be reviewing my favorite game of all time. I've spent more time playing World of Warcraft than any game. I started playing WoW in the fifth grade and played it up until I was a sophomore in high school. I eventually had to quit playing when the real world kicked in. It was easy as a teenager to get lost for hours in Azeroth, now I have to go to work & be an adult lol.

Wrath of the Lich King was the second expansion pack released for World of Warcraft. Wotlk became the fastest selling video game ever, selling nearly three million copies in twenty four hours. This expansion added new classes, maps, dungeons, raids, daily quests & higher graphic options.

Northrend was born! There was something very special about Northrend. This would be the first time in the history of WoW that you would be able to control your own flying mount. Something that users had been begging for years. With the ability to fly came an immense graphics update because you could reach so many new places. Before flying mounts people spent hours exploiting the map trying to get to places never seen before, and yes you could do it. There were ways of getting under cities & dungeons. Flying mounts eliminated the need to exploit.

The Death Knight was born. Starting with a full suit of armor and at level 55 these Death Knights were very popular. This was the first time that World of Warcraft ever dropped a new class. The previous expansion: The Burning Crusade had added new races but did not release a new class. Death Knights were a great damaging/tanking class that relied heavily on self heals. Their famous death grip instantly became popular with people pairing the skill with the phrase, "Get over here!" made famous by scorpion.

wow.jpg

With Wrath of the Lich King the level cap would be raised from level 70 to level 80. This ten level gap would become the next month of my life at the time. Hitting level 80 was awesome for me because it was the first time I hit level cap in World of Warcraft. I was so young when I started playing that I never devoted time to one character. I would just make tons and tons of low level characters.

After eighteen months of patches they finally released the Lich King fight. The fight that we had all been waiting for. This boss fight was extremely difficult and only manageable by extremely qualified players. At the time I was in a very good group and we defeated the Lich King. The boss fight was loaded with all sorts of obstacles that took about twenty five attempts before we could figure it out.

The Lich King death cinematic was amazing!

I would rate the Wotlk expansion five stars. I think all of the proceeding expansions slowly got worse & worse.

Sort:  

Amazing MMORPG! So much time of my life I spent on this game. No regret! :)

haha lol me too. I only regret the massive amount of mountain dews I drank.

My favorite expansion!! FOR THE LICH KING! :D And the good Old Insane title before nerf :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42