You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Destiny Review – Standing in the Shadow of Giants

in #gaming7 years ago

For as tough as you are on it, A- seems awfully generous.

Destiny is a series I have a complex relationship with. There are things about it I love, but they're all hampered by things that just drive me crazy. Destiny 2 is a great game compared to the first, but before the first came out, my expectations were so much higher. The idea of the Halo devs getting a gazillion dollars and several years to make a massive new IP that would take their expert FPS mechanics to a shared-world experience sounded amazing. Even as I play Destiny 2, that dream still isn't fully realized. I wish the world felt truly big. I wish the planets felt like enormous, explorable open worlds, and not arenas connected by pathways. I wish engaging with strangers randomly had more "stickiness" to it.

I don't know where I'm going with this. Good review.

Sort:  

Ya I struggled with the score but when I look at my big list of games and compare it to them all it would be disingenuous to put it much lower I mean B+ is where I have ranked games like Lego Star Wars, Ratchet and Clank, and Assassin's Creed Syndicate. If I'm totally honest with myself and push aside my expectations for the game Destiny is better than those titles. I mean for A- currently that covers the 41-57th ranked games out of 137 total. Maybe it seems skewed as I have 3 ranks above A- with A, A+, and A++?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47