[Backstage Chat] "Always say GG" - mOOnGLaDesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago

syR9kgd.jpg

Hi Everyone.

This is a random blog I decided to make sharing some of my observations from being an in-game observer at high level StarCraft events. I've met lots of pro players and awesome people and taken their advice to improve my game (that's why I wanted to become an observer in the first place). This blog is about what the pros have told me from chatting with them backstage at events. I hope it helps you with your competitive gaming the same way it has helped me!

Player: Moonglade
Event: ACL Brisbane 2013
Paraphrased Quote: "Even after the toughest loss, it feels good to make sure you say gg"

A bit of backstory about this - Moonglade had been in a bit of a slump after HotS came out - he wasn't performing as well as usual. He still was a top tier player, but new up and coming starcraft players were getting stronger and trying to challenge the #1 Australian player who was practically undefeated at the time.

Moonglade had said in some conversation about slumps and getting tilted that he tries always to say gg, no matter how bad the loss, or how badly you played - saying gg is something that you should always do.

I agree.

"gg" is the symbol of esports. It's the handshake at the end of the match. We all play games and competitive games to win but you're going to lose no matter who you are. Everyone does - and if you can hold your head up with pride after a bad loss and shake their hands you can improve your mentality and mindset going into your next game.

StarCraft is a game of strategy and one of the biggest points of strategy that is often overlooked is your mindset when starting a game. I don't know about your experience, but when i'm feeling good and my mind is clear of any problems I play way better. If I can ensure that I keep this positive mindset by saying a simple gg and then looking over the replay to see where I can improve my play then I'm positive that I'll become better at the game then I was prior to the match. By how much is the question, however.

So, next time you have a bad loss and feel like just quitting, say gg before you do. Let me know how it goes in the comments below :)

Follow moonglade on twitter:
twitter.com/moongladeau

Sort:  

Congratulations @infeza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @infeza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42