You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 20: Learning Through Video Games (the original Mega Man series)

in #gaming7 years ago

Thanks for this post! My son is homeschooled (unschooling) and LOVES video games which do teach him a ton! He is 9 years old and is working towards creating his own video game. I imagine that when he grows up, he will have a huge ability in tech that his counterparts won't have because their education has been less focused.

Sort:  

I imagine that when he grows up, he will have a huge ability in tech that his counterparts won't have because their education has been less focused.

Yep. One of the many problems with compulsory/public schooling: "Here! Learn our version of EVERYTHING all at once, connected to nothing in your real life, and then forget it all!"

Thanks for this great comment, and best of luck to your son!

Isn't that the truth!? My son is neurodiverse and he didn't fit into their box so I pulled him out. I believe that life itself presents opportunities for a well rounded education...and so far it's been crazy successful. I certainly went through a time when I thought we would be doing "school at home" but I quickly realized that wouldn't work for him. We've been unschooling ever since.

That is great to hear. Just followed your blog and looking forward to reading more. Cheers.✨

Thanks! I'm looking forward to reading more of yours as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67677.71
ETH 3825.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65