A price tag on memories

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

A few years ago, I wanted to try and acquire all the video game consoles I grew up with but also those I've missed out on. It started out with actually finding out that there was a store called The Sentinel in a nearby city. Me and @mevilkingdom went to take a look at its wares. It had a wide assortment of video game consoles and video games but also specialty items like action figures and game merchandise. Off course, being a specialty store, the prices were not that cheap but I found that for happy memories the prices were good enough.

The SNES

That's also where I bought the first piece in my quest for nostalgia: The Super Nintendo Entertainment System or SNES. It was not boxed, and fairly cheap. Can you actually put a price tag on memories? The SNES always reminds me of my time spent in Germany and is personally, my favorite "collectible".

The Master System

The Mega Drive

When I was still working at a service desk, a colleague of mine lost his thumb. Sadly enough, but luckily for me, he was selling his video game consoles. The SEGA Mega Drive and Master System would soon be added to my collection. Regrettably, he only had sports games on those systems.

The N64

A while ago, on a flea market, I found a person selling his Nintendo 64 and some games. It was still boxed, but opened. Sadly enough, the N64 had its "trademark" faults: A stuck reset button and a flickering power adapter connection. Shortly afterwards, a colleague of @mevilkingdom had an N64 for sale, but it had the same issues, although not as bad. I'm still looking for a perfectly working N64.

NES + NGC

Having a special someone can have its benefits, especially if that person comes with the original Nintendo Entertainment System or NES.

THE PS1

It's also because of her, that the Playstation 1 is in my collection. A few years ago, she wanted to relive her youth and play Spyro The Dragon, but she didn't have the game, nor a PS1. Luckily, a dude in a nearby city was selling his.

The PS2

If it was up to me, I would have kept all the consoles and games I once had, but there was always a need to fund a new acquisition or something else. Back in 2005, I sold my Playstation 2 to attend Graspop, a Metal Fest. I was still attending middle school back then, so I had no income. I had to sell my PS2 in order to go to the fest.
It was actually the same colleague that sold us the 2nd N64 that also sold us a PS2. It's here now and it's here to stay!

The Retro Game Room

From the Nintendo Gamecube and onward, I've never actually sold another console. I did, however, bring games back to the store for store credit. That's also something I'm not planning on doing anymore. I love being able to play whatever I want when I feel like playing it. Off course, the only prerequisite for that is that I own the game in question.

All handhelds

Another former colleague of mine, once had the Idea to start a collection as well. He had a lot of consoles and stuff I didn't have but he got into a tough financial situation and had to sell all of his stuff. I bought a Nintendo Game Boy and a Game Boy Advance from him.

The Living Room

I've got the consoles spread out over 2 rooms. One I call my retro game room and the other one is just our living room. The "retro game room" is where I have the NES, SNES, N64, Gamecube, Wii, Mega Drive, Master System, PS1, PS2 and the original XBox hooked up to an old-school TV and the "living room" is where the PS3, PS4, X360, XBOne and WiiU are hooked up to our flat-screen TV. The handhelds are also on a shelf in our living room. They include a PSP, PS-Vita, Game Boy, Game Boy Advance, the original DS, DSi, 3DS and a New 3DS-XL. Whenever I have the money for it and whenever something I'm looking forward to gets released, I tend to buy it or pre-order it.

The Game shelf

I'm still very much interested in expanding my humble collection of video game consoles and video games. The ones I'm hoping to find are: a Neo Geo, all of Atari consoles and the Atari Lynx, the SEGA Handhelds, Saturn and Dreamcast and a lot more games!

Retro shelf

When I resigned at my last job, I got a pretty neat going away present. A Raspberry Pi 2! When I got home that day, I immediately put the RetroPie OS on it, hooked it up to the TV and started playing with it!

Raspberry

Tell me, do you consider yourself a collector of some sorts? Which video game consoles do you own? Feel free to leave a comment and upvote if you like what I'm doing here:)

Until next time, take care peeps!

Cheers!

Wanna play something together? Add me on Steam, GoG, Origin, PSN or XBOne (HerrLonnie)
Previous post: Gamemories - From Gamer to God
Be sure to check out my girlfriend @mevilkingdom and brother in law @steve-walschot, the creator of SteemPay.io and vouched Steem applications developer.

Sort:  

Yes, your collection is quite humble :)

Only console i had was super nintendo and playstation. After that PC Master race.

Since I upgraded my pc last year, I've been buying more and more for pc as well... Mostly through Steam... Sadly enough, you can't put your steam account on a shelf:(

Cool post, i also am collecting retro games and systems. Check out my blog on here if you'd like :)

Great collection! I've always thought that maybe someday I will find somebody selling an old version of Ocarina of Time for the memories.

You will find what you're looking for eventually :) Me and the girlfriend are doing flea markets whenever we can. Sadly enough, hardly anyone still has those things. And almost everyone I come across, only sells sports games...

I used to do carboot sales her in the UK to find some real deals. Unfortunately, a lot more people are a lot more informed these days when it comes to prices. It only takes a quick scan of eBay to find that old Saturn game you were gonna sell for a couple of quid is actually worth fifty.

Awesome collection.Makes me want to start posting photos of my own!

I am a video games collector but due to financial constraints, I limit myself to collecting those classic games on emulators for the PC. It sucks, but a gamepad is available and it is better than nothing.

Keep your eyes open, sometimes you can find stuff cheap at garage sales or thrift shops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45