Interview with Lead Game Designer, Rob Nicholls

in #gaming6 years ago

With the launch of our Alpha rapidly approaching, and sign-ups booming we sat down with one of the newer additions to the team. So it's with great pleasure that I introduce you all to Rob Nicholls our new Lead Game Designer. Rob is a man of many talents, and has spent the last 21 years in the games industry.

"If our players like or don’t like our gameplay, they know who to praise or blame." - Rob Nicholls

portrait_-_Rob_Nicholls.jpg

Hi Rob, I know it's a super busy time for you at the moment, so thanks for taking the time to speak with me. In true team interview style, I'm going to ask you what you were up to before we sat down?

I was busy working on bring our Junior Designer up to speed, reviewing the possible visuals for our Alpha build introduction cinema script, and starting to work on the Quest functionality.

So, for those reading this, let's get the introductions flowing. So Rob, who are you, and what do you do!?

I am the Lead Game Designer on Hash Rush. I know folks out there have seen this title perhaps used a few times, however, I am (hopefully) the last. We've had a great few minds working on this role, but now I'm here to take it through to completion.

For those who are curious about what exactly this means, could you break it down a little?

My job is to focus and organize the final design of our game. A good start was made before I got here, but there was a LOT still to do – namely combat and trading. But combined with revisions to the mining aspect, I think we have the core pillars of our game finalized.

If our players like or don’t like our gameplay, they know who to praise or blame.

So, I'm sure you've unlocked many an achievement in your career thus far, so let's talk a little about what you were doing before joining the Hash Rush team.

I have been a game designer since 1997, which means I have over 20 years’ experience in the field. I have done board games, card games, but mostly video games. In that area I have done just about everything… action games, first-person shooters, puzzle games, lots of licensed titles. I have worked on games featuring Terminator, Dora the Explorer, America’s Army, and even Star Wars.

sw.jpg

So how did you come to hear about Hash Rush and what was it that sparked your interest?

It was a recruiter who put me onto Hash Rush, but I was excited and intrigued the moment I heard about it. Blockchain is the big buzzword right now so this is the chance to be working on a potential hot ticket right at the start. How could I refuse such an opportunity?

Well, you didn't refuse and how found yourself moving to Riga, Latvia to join the team, how are you finding it so far?

I have been living and working in Europe for almost three years now, so it has not been that big of an adjustment. Everyone in the Riga office is super-friendly and welcoming, so I am finding it really great so far!

That's awesome, we do pride ourselves on being a friendly team. So, Rob, If you could be any character/unit from Hash Rush, what would you be?

You have to ask? Have you seen my Hash Rush profile image?

So you're all about the traveller then are you? Well, he sure is an interesting character, but more on that in a future blog!

Well Rob, it's been a pleasure. Is there anything you would like to say to our community before I let you get back to work?

Just that as a veteran of the industry, I know how important it is to listen to the community. You are who we are making this game for and we will do our best to make it what you and your fellow gamers want. What we are doing now is just the foundation; with YOUR help we will build Hash Rush into a mansion-sized intellectual property. Thank you for your support, and do not be shy about sharing your thoughts with us!


If you want to read more about Hash Rush and the game, go to our website, follow our blog, join our newsletter or talk to us on Discord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27