Battlefront 2 News - The Microtransaction Issue For EA Just Isn't Going Away...

in #gaming7 years ago

ZomboMeme 17112017172544.jpg

Hello Fellow Steemian Gamers...

I told you I had a lot planned for you all today and I'm back again with more news about Battlefront 2 and their microtransaction fiasco.

Before I begin thank you so much for all your support I appreciate everything you do for my blog so please don't stop :)

News...

EA announced today that they are removing microtransactions from their game until further notice and reports have suggested the final call has come from Disney bosses.

Reports suggest that Andrew Wilson had a phone call with The Walt Disney Company CEO Bob Iger yesterday. Then, just hours after this phone call took place, Star Wars Battlefront 2‘s microtransactions were removed from the game.

Nobody knows exactly what was said but there is a lot of heat around loot boxes and gaming and EA have been at the brunt of it. The debate has now spread into Europe with many countries looking to rule on whether or not they should be considered gambling.

If they rule in favour of this notion games will no longer be able to provide lootboxes for real money.

What are your thoughts? Are Disney right to step in and stop EA?

As always if you like my like my posts then like me some feedback bellow. Don't forget to check out my social media links.

DQmchwCLxkHFraxi4YsUDXMwqRKK2Zb5rECaL9qYSCP5ETT.gif

Check out my other social media links below...

My YouTube Channel

www.youtube.com/GrownFolksGaming

My Instagram Page

www.instagram.com/GrownFolksGaming

My Facebook Page

www.facebook.com/GrownFolksGamingofficial

My Twitter Page

www.twitter.com/GFGOfficialUK

Sort:  

You guys are on fire today and because of that you have been featured in this post, as top bloggers in our gaming community you are always providing quality content keep it up and thank you...

@beekart @rerez @theaustrianguy @asperger-kids @bekari @afifa @gianluccio @papma @retro-room @rotfoot @mayowadavid @lyra.roberge @shla-rafia @jakkris @mehrwelten @grafinx @agoesdeuge @thatgermandude @gabox @curie

If this is true, my respect for Disney has grown. Disney does need to protect their property (and as much as some people dislike it, Disney now does own Star Wars) and this call would be right. The negative publicity that BFII was getting would have hurt Star Wars as well, and I'd hate for entire Star Wars image to suffer due to the greed of one company.

If they have told them to stop then they are awesome.

Thank you make. I can always count on you for the support.

No worries pal, this community thrives best when we all support one another 😄

It is a very grey area. We start getting in to questions like "What about Magic: The Gathering Cards" or other popular CCGs. It seems silly to many of us, but these are pretty good questions to ask. With games, both tabletop and electronic, becoming away for young folk to live the dream - it does reward them to pay out cash money if they can get an advantage.

There needs to be strong regulations on things like E-Sports. Maybe less in friendly matches.

I would have to respectfully disagree with you here. TCGs (like Magic the Gathering and Hex Shards of Fate) and CCGs (such as Hearthstone) are inherently different in the way that they are run. Whilst lootboxes for games like Battlefront II make no sense at all (you pay to enter the game), for card games you do not pay to enter, you pay to own cards for yourself.

Trading Card games need to consider their secondary market as well and for that matter the TCG owners cannot give out cards for free or at a value, distribution needs to be random based on the cards rarity. Without this market, a huge amount of TCG players would drop out. A lot of them 'play' as an investment that future values of the cards increase.
With all that, the random pack openings (basically lootboxes) seem to be the only way to go forward to keep that special player base happy.

I agree. But I know some are using cards as a talking point. I still think esports need tight monitoring. Any game with random p2w should be as well.

That's a good point. A Pokémon card pack doesn't

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83