Yoku's Island Express (game) : A metroidvania pinball game?

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Let me start out by saying that this is the most fun I've immediately had with a game right from the start of it since Rayman Legends. For the most part that level of fun continued all the way until the game was finished around 5 hours later (unfortunately the game is short.)


source

I stumbled upon this game because I was searching for a new metroidvania style game and this was on some random person's list. I was thinking that there is no way that a pinball game could possibly include world exploration and elements of powering up but i'll be dammed, they pulled it off and it is wonderful.

33958195_10156173338527850_8353129091938910208_o.jpg
source

There are various pinball "tables" that exist inside of the environment throughout the rather large map but that isn't the entire game. As far as getting from place to place is concerned the beetle you control can walk from side to side but can not jump, therefore moving to higher areas must be accomplished via various "flippers" that are located just all over the place.

Certain new areas can't be accessed until you complete certain objectives inside of one of the individual pinball games and to be honest, none of them are very difficult and it is impossible to lose. You don't ever run out of lives (balls) and you can't die.

YokusislandexpressScreenShot2905201809.264.png
source

The various tables are fun and varied and involve things like multi-ball as well. This title was particularly appealing to me because ever since Alien Crush, i have been searching for a pinball game to play largely to no avail.

The only negative I can really say about this game that is until you discover the "fast travel" aspect of the game, going to and from various portions of the map can actually be quite tedious and annoying. It's not that it is difficult or anything, and it really doesn't take that long, but since many of the quests you have to go on send you backtracking, it can be a bit like Mario needing to run backwards through all the levels on super marios bros to deliver a package and then have to run all the way back.

Thankfully this situation doesn't occur many times.


this trailer from the Game Trailers channel does a good job of showcasing the game

Like you would expect in any metroidvania game, you receive certain powerups (there's only a couple of them) throughout the game that open up other areas on the map as well as other collectibles that I haven't even gotten close to acquiring all of.

I was able to defeat the main story in under 6 hours but I thoroughly enjoyed the entire game as it was cute, fun, and very well-conceived. I hope that this game kicks out a trend of pinball oriented adventure games because as strange as it sounds, this mix actually really works well.

While the game is short, it does have a lot of replay value due to the hidden secrets and collectibles, as well as a few of larger tables that are not readily available except as end-game content.

Due to a wonderful mix of being intuitive, fun, great soundtrack, and loads of replay value; Yoku's Island Express receives the highest rating in my personal stash.

index.png
source

While the game is a bit overpriced at $20, the demo is free and it seems likely that this title would end up on a seasonal special sometime soon.

Sort:  

only played the demo so far and while it is fun I think I might pick it up if it is going on sale.

!trdo

It's also free on Xbox Game Pass at the moment :)

no xbox :-(

Congratulations @flipstar, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @gooddream!
@gooddream will receive 0.13480200 TRDO & @flipstar will get 0.08986800 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

how far does the demo let you play... just like the first table?

I assume it is the first level.

Would guess it was 15-20 minutes long

Hey! This is my kind of games! Simple and easy to play and understand. I couldn’t get into those games with killings and violence as I tend to get too involved emotionally!

I may try this one out as I should stop being afraid of computer games!

Very good the gaming friends

Nice...I am a game freak myself

Posted using Partiko Android

Saw this game in a list of Top Switch games (don't remember "top" what.) Interesting premise though I'm not fan of Pinball.

if you are not a fan of pinball stay well away since that is the basic underlying part of the entire game.

Thought so. It's one of the game that I'd like its premise but won't think of trying.

stay well away since that is the basic underlying part of the entire game.

This looks like a really awesome game. Probably not that many buttons to smash either. Which would be a good thing for me. I was going to mention another game to you the other day, but I can't remember the name of it . I know I got it for free from Steam and I had it installed on one of my laptops. Unfortunately it was a laptop that was on the floor when my basement flooded and it is now pretty much kaput. I still have the hard drive, but the hardware was pretty specific so I can't boot it.

i think only 3 buttons were used, the top triggers for your flippers and then one of the buttons to interact with objects and initiate conversations. But yeah, it was super simple. I played it a bit more today even though i have already defeated it. Having boss battles in a pinball environment was pretty wild. That's where the multi-ball came into play.

That sounds really cool. I remember playing the old Night Flight pinball game on Windows for hours. Then the first time I went to an actual pinball hall, I was in heaven. I will see if I can dig into the folders of this drive and find the name of that game for you. Your Nationals did well last night. I wrote a post about it :)

Great review! :D

Have you played Creature in the Well?
It's classified as a 'pin-shooter'.

nope, but i'm gonna look at it now!

Congratulations @gooddream, your post successfully recieved 0.134802 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@flipstar earned : 0.089868 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03